Kanopy is a streaming video platform with more than 8,000 films from a variety of collections and producers, including the California Newsreel, Green Planet, PBS, BBC Active, and Stanford Executive Briefings collections. Kanopy videos can be embedded in Canvas, watched on tablets/mobile devices, and watched on TV through a variety of services. Information about these options is available online. Click "more" for login information.
As of July 1 2019, the University Libraries lease content from Kanopy on an item-by-item basis. Requests for the Libraries to lease an item can be made on the Kanopy web site or to your subject selector. Because of the costs and limited duration of Kanopy rental agreements, we prioritize content needed by faculty and students for coursework and research purposes. Requests may take several working days to process; please plan accordingly. More information about Kanopy and streaming video at Miami.
Swank Digital Campus provides a customizable academic streaming library of over 25,000 feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios, including Walt Disney, Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more. SWANK videos can be embedded in Canvas and watched on tablets/mobile devices. Information about these options is available online. Click "more" for login information.
The University Libraries leases content from SWANK on an item-by-item basis. Requests for the Libraries to lease an item can be made on the SWANK web site by a faculty member or your subject selector. Because of the costs and limited duration of SWANK rental agreements, we prioritize content needed for coursework and research purposes. Requests may take several working days to process; please plan accordingly.
Formerly called the Digital Media Center (DMC). An OhioLINK product, the Digital Resource Commons (DRC) provides widespread access to images, sounds, video, numeric data, and other types of media information for the community and the world.
Contents are supplied by members of the OhioLINK community. Currents collections include: Foreign Language Database, Encyclopedia of Physics, Social Sciences Database, Historic and Archival Materials, Sandborn fire insurance maps, Art and Architecture Database, Landsat 7 satellite images.
Education in Video provides a large and rich online collection of video available for the study of teaching methods and education theory. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Topics covered by the videos include normal human anatomy and physiology (blinking, blood pressure), pathophysiology of diseases (glaucoma, Parkinson's disease), and clinical interventions (liposuction heart bypass surgery).
Currently contains 2,000+ videos which cover a wide variety of subjects. This collection includes streaming videos from Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Ambrose video producers with additional producers potentially added in the near future.
The Archaeology Channel provides free access to a large collection of streaming media covering archaeology worldwide. Among the contents are more than 100 topical videos from both nonprofit and commercial sources and several video interviews.
Entrepreneurship Corner is a wonderful free collection of more than 1,600 videos and podcasts related to entrepreneurship, innovation, product development, and other business topics, including lectures from thought leaders in the field.
Folkstreams provides streaming video access to a significant and growing collection of documentary films about folk culture in the US. At the time of this review, 103 films were included, ranging from 1964 to the present.
Lang Media's mission is to provide "materials in languages less-commonly offered by colleges and universities in the United States" and "authentic materials depicting differences in regional dialects and language-usage among speakers of the most commonly taught languages worldwide."
The Web site of the National Film Board of Canada (NFB), Canada's public film producer and distributor, recently introduced a free online screening room with "over 700 full-length films, trailers and clips."
Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division.
Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 11,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its primary collection emphasis has turned toward home movies and amateur films, with approximately 17,000 items held as of Spring 2019. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions. Getty Images represents the collection for stock footage sale, and over 6,400 items (representing approximately 4,800 distinct films) are available here.