Theatre: Websites

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history.

Eastern Michigan University created site that has the Plays, Authors, Performers, Management, Titles, and History

An advocate for the field of theatre and performance in higher education, ATHE serves as an intellectual and artistic center for producing new knowledge about theatre and performance-related disciplines, cultivating vital alliances with other scholarly and creative disciplines, linking with professional and community-based theatres, and promoting access and equity.

From the Dramatist Guild.

Free online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956. doollee.com contains information on 42,776 Playwrights and 144,232 of their Plays. Search for them using the links at the top of the page.

Europeana.eu is about ideas and inspiration. It links you to 4 million digital items.

Free, high-quality digital texts of Shakespeare's plays and poems start with the basics: superb source texts, meticulously edited on the basis of current scholarship. The plays and poems in Folger Digital Texts are taken from the Folger Shakespeare Library editions, completed in 2010 by editors Barbara Mowat and Paul Werstine and published by Simon & Schuster.

An international organization of institutions and individuals committed to using innovative digital technologies to create easily accessible, multimedia, and multilingual information resources for the study and preservation of the performing arts.

The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.

For the purposes of The Lortel Archives, Off-Broadway refers to any production that has satisfied the following requirements:

1. Played at a Manhattan theatre with a seating capacity of 100-499
2. Intended to run a closed-ended or open-ended schedule of performances of more than one week
3. Offered itself to critics and general audiences alike

The Kilroys are a gang of playwrights and producers in LA who are done talking about gender parity and are ready to act. We are mobilizing others in our field and leveraging our own power to support one another.

Musical theater historian John Kendrick has created an impressive site on the musical in all its forms--stage, screen, cabaret--the personalities who shaped it, and more. Reference features include suggested readings, rights index, chronologies, calendar, links, etc.

Established by Congress in 1965, the NEA is the independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities. Through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector, the NEA supports arts learning, affirms and celebrates America’s rich and diverse cultural heritage, and extends its work to promote equal access to the arts in every community across America.

NEH is an independent grant-making agency of the United States government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities.

The Native American Women Playwrights Archive is a collection of original materials by Native women playwrights of the Americas. NAWPA hopes to identify playwrights, collect and preserve their work, try to make it widely known, and encourage performances and continued creativity. Plays in manuscript, disk, videotape, or other format are cataloged, given appropriate preservation treament, and made available to anyone who wishes to read them in the library. NAWPA welcomes playwrights at any level

The New Play Exchange ® (NPX) is the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers. You will need an account to use the resources.

Provides the latest news from Broadway, Playbill archives, performance listings, seating charts, and other special features.

A comprehensive database of Broadway history from Playbill Inc. It is currently in beta.

A gathering place for theater students and scholars to share ideas and tools. This is your space to exchange resources for research and pedagogy.

To strengthen, nurture and promote the professional not-for-profit American theatre. Today, our programs further our core values of fostering connection, embracing diversity and supporting artistry in the American theatre. In all our endeavors, TCG seeks to increase the organizational efficiency of our member theatres, cultivate and celebrate the artistic talent and achievements of the field, and promote a larger public understanding of and appreciation for the theatre.

A guide to the historic theatres that exist around the world. We want you to visit them, experience what it is like to stand inside them, and to take an interest in their preservation. Our goal is to provide you with the most accurate information possible about each theatre in order to enhance your understanding of them and as an aid to those who wish to research them further.

Modern theatrical lighting has been developing over the past 60 years, primarily in America. Until now it has been exceedingly difficult to study due to limited access to original lighting documents. This collection contains actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets and much more from four landmark productions digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library.