Lists books and articles about about theater and the performing arts. The resources covered by IBTD include articles in scholarly journals, books, chapters in books, and articles in literary and theater magazines, published around the world and in several languages. Emphasizes theater-as-performance in contrast to the emphasis on literary criticism in the MLA International Bibliography and other literature and humanities indexes. IBTD does not list reviews in newspapers, magazines, or popular media.
An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Works exclusively on classical Greek and Latin literatures are excluded. EBSCO coverage starts with 1926; the print edition starts with 1921. See also Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.
This resource contains 1,530 plays by 223 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.