Theatre: Plays and Monologues

Databases

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Drama Online platform provides access to playtexts, video recordings of staged performances, critical and contextual writings, and practical guides to performance and dramaturgy. Supports research in theatre and literary studies. Includes a tools for discovering monologues and play texts that fit selected criteria. Coverage of Shakespeare and British theatre is especially strong. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Play Index This link opens in a new window
An author, title, and subject index to 40,000 plays and other dramatic performances published in the US since 1949. Play Index covers a wide range of performance-types written in or translated into English. Includes citations of some content not held by the Miami Libraries.
Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more. Play Index includes plays published as single volumes and also plays in anthologies and collections.
Theatre in Context This link opens in a new window
O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.
North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 250 plays by 49 playwrights from the early 1900s to the present, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print or previously unpublished plays. Each play is indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images. Also includes the "Native Playwrights' Newsletter" (1993-96) a unique resource containing original essays, articles, photographs, interviews, reviews, and production information related to the plays.
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
Plays of selected women playwrights, some unpublished or hard to find. Also included: selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Colonial era - present.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window
This resource contains 2,097 plays by 434 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Black Drama 1850 to Present This link opens in a new window
Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, searchable information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Produced by Alexander Street Press.
Black Drama: Second Edition This link opens in a new window
African, African American, and Diaspora, 1850 to present. Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Websites

Samuel French
Publisher of American and British play scripts.
Dramatists Play Service
A great place to look for scripts, offering a breakdown of characters and synopsis.
The Monologuer
With The Monologuer you can browse through individual monologues or find monologues conveniently grouped together by authors or productions. You can find the perfect monologue using a combination of useful filters, including age-range, gender, play title, author, genre, and theme.
Monologue Archive
An assortment of public domain monologues taken from classic plays organized by gender and type.
Shakespeare's Monologues
A list of Shakespearean monologues categorized alphabetically by comedy, history and tragedy.
Billy Rose Theatre Collection
The Billy Rose Theatre Division of The New York Public Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive archives devoted to the theatrical arts. Encompassing dramatic performance in all its diversity, the division is an indispensable resource for artists, writers, researchers, scholars, students, and the general public

Books

Sometimes you may just want to browse an area of the library to see what books are available. Books related to the study of Theatre are scattered throughout the second floor of King. Some books might also be checked out or will be in our Southwest Ohio Regional Depository.

Here's a breakdown of the areas:

PN1530-1559---Monologue. Dialogue

PN1560-1599---Performing Arts. Show Business

PN1600-3310---Drama

PN2000-3307---Dramatic Representation. Theater

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2024 8:51 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/theatre
Print Page

Subjects: Theatre