Comparative Religion: Find Articles
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database and ATLASerials, Religion Collection This link opens in a new windowATLASerials Oxford campus users only; ATLA Religion Database available to all users. A comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, the Index Islamicus Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also Muslim areas of Asia and Africa and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Included in the index are journals, conference proceedings, and monographs.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowL'Année Philologique (APh) is a comprehensive, annual index of publications dealing with all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity. Subjects included in this index are history, literature, art, religion, folklore, early Christian texts, papyrology, and science.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new windowGuide to the current scholarship in Islamic Studies, containing original commentary and annotations reviewed by scholars in the field and citations to current scholarship organized by topic.
- Implicit ReligionA peer-reviewed Journal, that brings together the study of society and of religion,
the theoretical and the applied, and the intelligent and the interesting.
How Do I Find Articles?
The Miami University Libraries offer more than 80,000 subscriptions to journal titles, and many more journals are available from other libraries. You just need a finding tool that will help you figure out what articles in what journals are on your subject.
So where are the finding tools?
The Miami University Libraries subscribe to over 300 indexes and research databases (subject list, alphabetical list) that identify articles about specific topics in many different subject areas. These indexes will often link you to online copies of these articles.Don't know which finding tool to use?
Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for many subjects.What if the index does not connect to an electronic version of the article?
Some indexes/databases will have a Find It button that may indicate if the Libraries have a hard copy of the journal, or if the Libraries have an electronic version from another e-journal provider. If not, do a Journal Title Search in the Miami University Libraries' catalog to see if a hard copy of the journal is available from one of the Libraries.But what if the Miami University Libraries don't have the journal you need?
Miami students, faculty and staff may submit an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain a copy of the articles you need from another institution.Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databases for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
