Linguistics: Find Articles

LLBA indexes research in theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and speech therapy.LLBA indexes research in theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and speech therapy published in scholarly journals, monographs, conference proceedings, and web sites. Besides allowing advanced searching in several fields, LLBA uses a thesaurus of standardized terminology.

Dates of Coverage: 1973-present

An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric) starting with 1926.An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Works exclusively on classical Greek and Latin literatures are excluded. EBSCO coverage starts with 1926; the print edition starts with 1921.

See also Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.

Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals.

Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).

Doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The authoritative bibliographic record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Dissertations can be purchased from UMI or are available for download at a price, but you can usually also borrow them for free through Interlibrary Loan.

EBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe (formerly Communist countries) published in the eight countries of Western Europe.EBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe (formerly Communist countries) published in Western Europe. It includes documents, whether published in that country’s language or in the languages of the countries studied. The database contains over 50,000 bibliographical citations to works published between 1991 and 1996. From 1996 onwards, German monographs are not listed, as users can find them through the catalogs of the German National Library in Frankfurt/Main. The subjects covered are social sciences, humanities, literature, linguistics and art.

Dates of Coverage: 1991-

An index to articles (many full-text, online) in hundreds of literary magazines and scholarly journals in the arts, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.Humanities International Complete is an index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines. Provides very good coverage of little magazines and literary reviews and, for 2000- , for scholarly journals in the humanities (history, literature, philosophy, and religion). Incorporates coverage formerly provided by the American Humanities Index (published by Whitston, 1975-2005).

Full-text access to backfiles of select scholarly periodicals in the Arts, Business, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences.

Project MUSE offers full text, affordable access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.