Linguistics: ENG 201 AA - Language and Gender
What's in this guide?
This course guide offers library resources and research materials to support students' research for ENG 201 AA - Language and Gender (Spring 2016), Professor: Dr. G. Etter-Lewis. Looking for more information? See the Linguistics Research Guide.
Research Databases and Books
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowIndex to academic research on women, gender studies, sexual diversity, gender identity, masculinity, feminism, and LGBTQ issues. 1930-present, although the bulk of the content is 1970s -present.
- Gender Watch This link opens in a new windowMostly full-text database of secondary sources (journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, reports, booklets, and conference proceedings) focusing on gender issues across disciplines and countries.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowArchival and current content in the area of LGBT studies. Includes topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. No full-text.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
Above: Social science and linguistics-specific research databases which index many relevant academic journals (like Gender and Language) and popular press publications (like Out magazine).
The Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality (2nd ed.) by ISBN: 9781118584293Publication Date: 2014-03-06Tip: Log in with Miami U unique ID and password to ensure stable access.
Format: Ebook
Series: Blackwell Handbooks in Linguistics
Language and Gender by Call Number: P120.S48 L338 2011ISBN: 9781405191449Publication Date: 2011-03-14
Women, Men and Everyday Talk by Call Number: P120.S48 C63 2013ISBN: 9780230368699Publication Date: 2013-11-25
Language and Gender Resources
- Gender Pronouns WorksheetFAQ, pronunciation guides, and more from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee LGBT Resource Center.
- LGBT Terms & Definitions - UCBerkeley's Gender Equity Resource CenterFrom the Gender Equity Resource Center at University of California Berkeley - "These terms were last updated in July 2013. For the most complete definitions, we encourage you to compare what you find here with information from other sources as language in our communities is often an evolving process, and there may be regional differences. Please be aware that these terms may be defined with outdated language or concepts."
- Select Reading: Gender Fluidity or Gender-Neutral, Nonbinary, Asexual Characters*This list is not exhaustive, not by any means. Have suggestions for additions? Fantastic! Email me: vonnahee@miamioh.edu
- Using Inclusive LanguageInformation for allies from the LGBT Resources Center at the University of Wisconsin - Madison
Campus Resources
- Linguistics @ Miami UniversityFrom the Miami University Dept. of English: "The Linguistics Program offers a major and a minor to all Miami students. The program is housed in the English Department in cooperation with a number of departments that contribute to the program through their course offerings. See the Linguistics Curriculum page for a complete list of required and elective courses for the major and minor."
- Women's CenterEstablished in 1991, the Women's Center exists to support and empower women, educate the campus about women's issues, and help the University achieve positive institutional change related to gender equity. We do this through resources and services, programs and events, expertise and activism, opportunities for engagement and leadership, and welcoming space.
Related Subject and Research Guides
- Women, Gender, and Sexuality StudiesJenny Presnell, subject librarian
- PsychologyEli Sullivan, subject librarian
Professional Organizations
- National Women's Studies AssociationFrom NWSA: "Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings."