Juvenile Literature: Home
Welcome & Research Tips
The Instructional Materials Center (IMC) on the Ground Floor of King Library holds contemporary literature for children and young adults.
While there are some older materials included in the IMC collection, researchers interested in the history of children's literature and educational materials, especially prior to the 20th century, should see the historic children's literature collection held in the Walter Havighust Special Collections and University Archives on the 3rd Floor of King Library.
For assistance with literary research on children's literature, see this guide.
Finding Books in the IMC
Use this box to find books located in the IMC. Please follow the search tips below for help.
- Finding Books in IMC (click to enlarge) Highlighted areas show how you can filter results to IMC materials and how you know the item you are looking at is located in IMC
To find a book in the IMC, filter your search results by location. Make sure you are looking for King Library, Ground Floor, IMC.
The Juvenile Literature collection is divided into several parts.
- Juv Easy picture books for children in grades PK-3
- Easy Readers - leveled readers for children learning to read
- Juvenile Fiction/Non-Fiction includes non-fiction books for children of all ages and fiction books for children in grades 4-12
- ELL - books for English Language Learners
- Language Materials - books for teaching foreign languages
- Big Books - oversized books for grades PK-3, perfect for reading-aloud to large groups
The location and call number will end up looking similar to: King Library, Ground Floor, IMC, Juv QA27.5 .L44 2016b
Book Finder Databases
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Includes thematic reading lists, children's book award search, and extensive information about 3 million children's books and media.
- Children's Core Collection This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Find recommended books and book reviews on children's literature for preschool through sixth grade. Includes over 13,000 titles of books and magazines. Oxford campus users only.
Free Children's eBook Collections
Kids and YA ebooks - through the Ohio Digital Library. Available with an Ohio Public Library card. Need a card? Use your local Oxford address to get one from the Lane Public Library here.
Comics and Graphic Novels online - free from the State Library of Ohio.
K-12 Online Textbooks - links to free online textbooks for ELA, math, science, and social studies.
