Geography: Home

Best Bets

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited.

If you need a quick introduction to a database, check out these videos from you librarians at Miami.

STEM Resources - Video Series
Databases covered include: SciFinderN, Knovel, Engineering Village, Web of Science, GeoRef, IEEE, and PubMed.
Miami University Libraries Instructional Videos
Assorted library tutorials, not just database tutorials.

Geography is covered with the G call numbers.

G | Geography (general). Atlases. Maps

GA | Mathematical geography

GB | Physical geography

GC | Oceanography

GE | Environmental Science

GF | Human ecology. Anthropogeography

GN | Anthropology

GR | Folklore

GT | Manners and customs

GV | Recreation

Due to the varied geography sub disciplines, many other call numbers will provide some books of potential interest as well. For more details on geography and the other disciplines in the G call numbers, please check out PDF of the Library of Congress' guide to geography, anthropology and recreation.