Geography: Films
Streaming Video Databases
- Alexander Street Press Video Online This link opens in a new windowThis platform provides access to all of our subscribed audio and video collections from Alexander Street Press and can be cross-searched simultaneously. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA streaming video platform with films from a variety of collections and producers, including the California Newsreel, Green Planet, PBS, BBC Active, and Stanford Executive Briefings collections. Search titles available for request and for titles currently licensed by the Libraries. Check the library catalog for licensed films' expiration dates.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowStreaming library of over 25,000 feature films, documentaries and foreign films available for request. SWANK videos can be embedded in Canvas and watched on tablets/mobile devices. Licenses for approved requests last one calendar year.
- World History in Video This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of streaming videos that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Documentaries topics include, a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Focus is Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
- All MU databases with video contentThere are about 20 databases with video content, so if you don't find what you need, check out these other options.
