Miami Forensics: Oral Interpretation
Resources for Dramatic Readings
In addition to being able to search our online library catalog for titles of plays, poems, short stories, speeches, etc., you can also check out some of the online resources below.
- American & English Literature Full CollectionContains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. Subcollections with the American & English Literature Collection include:
* Poetry: African-American Poetry 1700-1900 ; 20th Cent. African-American Poetry ; American Poetry 1600-1900 ; 20th Cent. American Poetry ; English Poetry ; 20th Cent. English Poetry
* Drama: American Drama ; English Prose Drama 1280-1915 ; English Verse Dramas 13th-19th Centuries
* Fiction: Early American Fiction 1774-1850 ; 18th Cent. Fiction 1700-1800
* Also: Bibliography of American Literature ; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare ; William Butler Yeats Collection ; The Bible in English
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of short stories, fables, and folklore from African, African-American, and Caribbean authors.
- Latino Literature This link opens in a new windowContains the full text of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles, criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
- Theatre in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides information about plays, productions, playwrights and other theater workers, companies, and other aspects of North American theater, and it links to full-texts of plays included in these four Alexander Street Press databases.
- Play Index This link opens in a new windowAn author, title, and subject index to 40,000 plays and other dramatic performances published in the US since 1949. Play Index covers a wide range of performance-types written in or translated into English. Includes citations of some content not held by the Miami Libraries.
New Books
The Forbidden: poems from Iran and its exiles by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PK6449.E5 F67 2012ISBN: 1611860342Publication Date: 2012
Dead on a High Hill: essays on war, literature and living, 2002-2012 by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PS3555.H67 Z46 2012ISBN: 0786470399Publication Date: 2012
The Hecht Prize Anthology, 2005-2009 by Call Number: 1904130461ISBN: 1904130461Publication Date: 2012
30 under 30 : an anthology of innovative fiction by younger writers by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PS647.Y68 A15 2011ISBN: 0984213333Publication Date: 2011
She walks in beauty : a woman's journey through poems by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6101 .S475 2011ISBN: 1401341454Publication Date: 2011
One story, thirty stories : an anthology of contemporary Afghan American literature by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PS508.A43 O54 2010ISBN: 155728945XPublication Date: 2010
Good Poems, American Places by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PS595.U5 G66 2011ISBN: 0670022543Publication Date: 2011
An Anthology of Disability Literature by Call Number: 1611630576ISBN: 1611630576Publication Date: 2011
Plays, Monologues, and Dialogues of Interest
Best Men's Stage Monologues and Scenes edited by Lawrence Harbison. PN2080 .B445 2010
Best of 24 Hours: New Ten-Minute Plays edited by Scot Lahaie. PS627.O53 B46 2005
Best Women's Stage Monologues and Scenes edited by Lawrence Harbison. PN2080 .B465 2010
Black Heroes in Monologues by Gus Edwards. PS3555.D925 B55 2006
Monologues for Show-Offs by Donna Daley. PN2080 .D35 2008
The Oberon Book of Modern Monologues for Men ed. by Catherine Weate. PN2080.O23 2008
The Oberon Book of Modern Monologues for Women ed. by Catherine Weate. PN2080.O24 2008
Out Plays: Landmark Gay and Lesbian Plays of the Twentieth Century ed. by Ben Hodges. PS627.H67 O976 2008
E-Books provided by MU Libraries
eBook Providers - Free
- Directory of Open Access BooksThe Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague. DOAB contains more than 1,000 academic peer-reviewed books from more than two dozen publishers.
- GoodreadsThis book-focused social networking site provides access to the full-text of public domain and some recently published books as well downloadable previews to many others. File formats available depend on title.
- Google BooksProvides access to public domain titles and books where the author's copyright has not been renewed. Also provides limited previews to many books whose rights are retained by their authors and publishers. Books can be read online, or, in limited cases, downloaded for ereaders as EPUB files.
- Internet Archive Text ArchiveDownload free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
- ManyBooks.netAn independently maintained site that offers Project Gutenberg materials in a wide array of formats for reading online and through numerous devices.
- National Academies Press E-BooksThe National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
- Project GutenbergThe first online eBook site, Project Gutenberg provides access to many books whose copyright has expired and that have entered the public domain. Books can be read online or installed on some commercial eBook readers.
- Read.govFrom The Center for the Book at the Library of Congress, Read.gov provides online eBooks for children and young adults, including historic publications and one title, "The Exquisite Corpse Adventure," created specifically for the site.
