Miami Forensics: Miami Speech Institute
Resources for Persuasive/Position
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAccess to news in newspapers and wire services worldwide. Dates of coverage varies by publication.
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new windowOriginal, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Each issue reports in-depth on a single theme in the areas of political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.Reports include a background and chronology; and assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Dates of Coverage: 1991-present
Updated: Weekly - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowGeneral index to scholarly and popular periodicals.
Our broadest, most general index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for over 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, and full text for more than 5,300 of these. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowIndexing for hundreds of newspapers, often but not always with full text.
Coverage (varies by paper): Indexing 1979- ; full-text 1984-
Resources for Dramatic Readings
In addition to being able to search our online library catalog for titles of plays, poems, short stories, speeches, etc., you can also check out some of the online resources below.
- American & English Literature Full CollectionContains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. Subcollections with the American & English Literature Collection include:
* Poetry: African-American Poetry 1700-1900 ; 20th Cent. African-American Poetry ; American Poetry 1600-1900 ; 20th Cent. American Poetry ; English Poetry ; 20th Cent. English Poetry
* Drama: American Drama ; English Prose Drama 1280-1915 ; English Verse Dramas 13th-19th Centuries
* Fiction: Early American Fiction 1774-1850 ; 18th Cent. Fiction 1700-1800
* Also: Bibliography of American Literature ; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare ; William Butler Yeats Collection ; The Bible in English
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of short stories, fables, and folklore from African, African-American, and Caribbean authors.
- Latino Literature This link opens in a new windowContains the full text of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles, criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
- Theatre in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides information about plays, productions, playwrights and other theater workers, companies, and other aspects of North American theater, and it links to full-texts of plays included in these four Alexander Street Press databases.
- Play Index This link opens in a new windowAn author, title, and subject index to 40,000 plays and other dramatic performances published in the US since 1949. Play Index covers a wide range of performance-types written in or translated into English. Includes citations of some content not held by the Miami Libraries.
Examples of Speeches
- Vital Speeches of the DayText of speeches on wide range of political topics. 10/08/1934 to present.