Miami Forensics: Debate
Policy Research Databases
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new windowClick on browse reports, click on by topic, and then click on Agriculture. You will see several subtopics that might be helpful, including Farm Produce and Commodities and Agricultural Research. These reports will give you a good overview and background. Be careful on the dates of the reports.
- Points of View Reference CenterContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Newspaper Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowPreviously called LexisNexis Academic, Lexis Uni provides full-text access to articles from thousands of newspapers and legal sources.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national and international newspapers, selected articles from over 260 regional U.S. papers, and some television and radio news transcripts, in addition to indexing for a far larger number of papers.
- FactivaCurrent subscription to the Wall Street Journal and Barrons, but it also includes at least business news from all the major US and international newspapers.
- Finding NewspapersFor more information about finding newspaper articles using Miami resources, see this guide on the subject.
Books
Policy Debate by
In Policy Debate: A Guide for High School and College Debaters, Shawn F. Briscoe introduces educators, coaches, and students at the high school and college levels to the concepts at the foundation of policy debate, also known as cross-examination debate, and uses conceptual analysis and real-world examples to help students engage in competitive debates and deploy winning strategies. Briscoe addresses all aspects of policy debate, including stock issues, judging paradigms and effective engagement with judges, the responsibilities of both affirmative and negative teams, and the evaluation of policy proposals through the use of disadvantages, counterplans, and critical argumentation. In addition, Briscoe helps debaters better establish their credibility, improve their cross-examination skills, and understand the specialized notetaking method called flowing. The book models for readers how to effectively cross-examine an opposing team, features a transcript of a mock debate designed to help clarify the lessons taught in previous chapters, and includes a glossary of key terms. Briscoe also considers contemporary trends in the debate community, exploring the evolution of policy debate and the rise of performance-based approaches, while providing insight into how best to engage with performance teams. Offering a unique approach presented by a seasoned debate coach, Policy Debate: A Guide for High School and College Debaters goes beyond the basics to explore how policy is an ever-evolving form of debate. This attention to the progression of policy styles will make readers better at adapting to opponents during a debate and will make them more adept at arguing against a wider range of cases.
Call Number: PN4181ISBN: 9780809335596Publication Date: 2016-11-29
The Debate Handbook by
Competitive debate is far greater than just a back-and-forth exchange of arguments, it is an intricate chess game where a much larger picture exists. The Debate Handbook is a thorough analysis on Parliamentary Debate that attempts to illustrate that premise from the most basic strategies to advanced theory and meta. While written as a guide for even the most novice students, this handbook is a game changer for veteran debaters looking to expand and improve their debate repertoire. Designed with the needs of coaches in mind, this work is formatted as an easy-to-reference manual; a must have to give students a leg up in beating the competition. This informative guide features: A gradual progression from basic concepts to advanced strategy. How to debate and win within fact, value, and policy rounds. A plethora of example arguments, graphic illustrations, and several case studies. Effective strategies to use for each speech and speaker role. A dedicated list of 170 varsity sample resolutions, in depth analysis on concepts such as topicality debating, flowing methodology, stock issue format, inherency and solvency arguments, fiat, kritiks, permutations... And much more!
Call Number: PN4181 P84 2020ISBN: 9798678875792Publication Date: 2020-09-16
Resolved by
Adopting a simple education reform to restore civil discourse and transform American society In this era of extreme political polarization, it's tempting to believe nothing can be done to heal a nation that is so obviously divided and led by dysfunctional politicians. But there is a relatively simple and powerful way to begin the healing, and at the same time prepare the next generations of leaders for the rigorous demands of a constantly changing economy and society. The solution offered by this intriguing book is for schools across the country to focus on developing in students the skills of successful debaters. These are the skills--so clearly lacking in contemporary society--of listening and persuading, through civil discourse backed by fact-based evidence and reason. Resolved explains how one simple educational reform can help address the nation's political divide and at the same time help ensure that today's young people will actually enjoy learning, and thus will have the necessary skills to lead productive and economically rewarding lives. The book offers practical ideas about a positive future for parents, educators, state legislators, business leaders--in fact, anyone interested in how debate-centered education can fundamentally change the country for the better.
Call Number: PN4181 .L58 2020ebISBN: 9780815737872Publication Date: 2020-10-06- Red Book: Sourcebook for Lincoln-Douglas Debate by
Summary: "Learning Lincoln-Douglas debate is made simple, successful and fun with Red Book and its related materials. LD debaters have relied on Red Book since 2000, a true staple for their preparation. Authored by Chris Jeub, the sourcebook teaches readers the structural demands of Lincoln-Douglas debate, provides summer releases for league-specific preparation, and gives strategic substance to excel in the round to win ballots." -Amazo
Call Number: PN4181 .J48 2016ISBN: 1936147874Publication Date: 2016
Debate-related Links
- Debate Central (University of Vermont)Materials gathered for the education and instruction of debaters everywhere in all formats. Maintained by Alfred Snider at the University of Vermont.
- Council on Foreign RelationsThe Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization. It generates policy reports that aim to provide information for decision-makers in the the United States and other countries.
- Think Tank Search (Harvard Kennedy School)Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. Hosted by Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government, a policy research institute.
