Theatre: THE 291

Journal Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
E-books and journals the Libraries have purchased through Project MUSE. The Libraries do not have access to all content available in Project MUSE.
Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 journal titles and 3,000 book titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Miami University subscribes to the Project Muse Standard Collection of e-journals and owns Project Muse e-books published in 2010, 2011, and 2012.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Lists books and articles about about theater, dance, and the performing arts. The resources covered by IBTD include articles in scholarly journals, books, chapters in books, and articles in literary and theater magazines, published around the world and in several languages. Emphasizes theater-as-performance in contrast to the emphasis on literary criticism in the MLA International Bibliography and other literature and humanities indexes. IBTD does not list reviews in newspapers, magazines, or popular media.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Some full-text.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database indexing the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items from major science and social science journals. Accessed via Web of Science. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Covers archaeology, architecture, art, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television and film, religion, and theater.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
An index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines. Provides very good coverage of little magazines and literary reviews and, for 2000-, for scholarly journals in the humanities (history, literature, philosophy, and religion). An index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines in history, literature, philosophy and religion. Includes coverage of more specialized journals and literary reviews.
Incorporates coverage formerly provided by the American Humanities Index (published by Whitston, 1975-2005).
Humanities with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, abstracts, and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, and periodical coverage dates back to 1910. The content encompasses all fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more.

Databases

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
This guide provides information on individual literary and cultural critics, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Online Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey in more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries.
Theatre in Context This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Context Collection helps students of theatre, literature, and history draw connections between the people who brought key productions and dramatic stories to life—from the director, to the actor, to the design team. With Theatre in Context Collection, students can understand the historical significance of certain plays, their popularity, and their role in shaping dialogue outside of the world of theatre—creating a complete picture of life on the historical stage. The collection includes 40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources, including: essential reference works that catalogue historic performances from the Broadway stage, archival playbills that document the major players of the day, original designs that allow you to reimagine the set, and decades worth of periodicals that provide contemporary reactions to performances.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Drama Online platform provides access to playtexts, video recordings of staged performances, critical and contextual writings, and practical guides to performance and dramaturgy. Supports research in theatre and literary studies. Includes a tools for discovering monologues and play texts that fit selected criteria. Coverage of Shakespeare and British theatre is especially strong. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Good Internet Resources

Project Gutenberg
Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
HathiTrust
A not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items.

Electronic Encyclopedias

Given the nature of your project, you will also be consulting broader historic and cultural sources. Some good encyclopedias include:

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides 25,000 entries and is searchable by keywords within the articles. Entries are short with no bibliographies.
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary sources, books, documents, selections fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.
Part of the World Book Web suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. Included resources are: World Book kids, World book student, World book advanced, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica, L'Encyclopedie Decouverte, Early world of learning, Timelines.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias written by world-class experts to provide subject overviews that can be understood in half an hour of reading or less.
Every essay is rigorously peer-reviewed and new topics and essays are added monthly. The OREs were developed with a global community of librarians and university faculty and written for everyone from students just beginning their studies to more advanced researchers needing background on a field of study.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
3 simultaneous users. Oxford Art Online contains more than 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Although the Benezit Dictionary of Art is included in search results, Miami does not subscribe to this portion, so you will not be able to access them. You will see a red lock icon by these entries. Wertz Art and Architecture Library's reference section has the 2006 Benezit Dictionary of Art in hardcopy.
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects written by experts in the field.
Since the series was launched it has continued to offer new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, and new ideas, to make challenging topics highly readable.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale e-books in the Libraries' collection.

Your Librarian

Stefanie Hilles

Email Me

Contact:

Wertz Art and Architecture Library
7 Alumni Hall

513-529-6650

Subjects: Art and Architecture, Fashion, Graphic Design, Theatre

Citing in MLA

For more information in citing in MLA, see the library's MLA research guide.

Where is the article?

Click on the "Find it!" icon to find more information about where to get the actual article once you find it in an index or database.

If the article is available online, you will see a link to it.

If the article is available in print, you will see a library location (e.g. King Library) and a call number. Go to that library's periodicals section and look up the call number. Make sure you write down the volume, issue, and year of your article before you go.

If no copies are available, click on the link that says "InterLibrary Loan Options." Click on "Journal Article" and fill out the info. We will try to find the article for you and mail or email it to you.

SW Depository

If you find a book with SW Depository as the location, the book is located in the library's offsite book depository. You can request the book by clicking on "request item." This is located under the title on the results page or on the left side of the page if you are looking at the full catalog record. You will receive an email when it is ready to be picked up.

Print Encyclopedias

Print encyclopedias covering a wide variety of topics are located in the reference section in King Library's Instructional Materials Center (IMC), to the right of the main desk. The IMC in the "basement" on the same floor as King Cafe.

Need More Encyclopedias?

Check out the Encyclopedias LibGuide!

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2024 10:40 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/theatre
Print Page

Subjects: Theatre