Newspapers: Home
Newspaper Research Guide
This research guide provides access to resources related to newspapers and related subjects, focusing primarily on resources available to Miami University Users. The front page of this guide provides access to key frequently accessed materials; see the tabs on the left-hand side of the screen for additional resources.
Newspaper Website Subscriptions at Miami
Miami University students, faculty, and staff are eligible for full subscriber access to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. To access these resources you will need to register an account on the NYT or WST websites.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address.
NOTE: You need to be on campus when registering or renewing your account. -
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Newspaper Databases
These newspaper databases contain plain-text articles from thousands of newspapers, with a particular focus on newspapers from the United States. Most articles in these databases are plain-text and may not include photographs or formatting.
-
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database provides access to articles from more than 7,500 news sources from the U.S. and around the world.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. Also includes television and radio transcripts, business and trade journals and company reports and financial data. Includes content from newspapers such as the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers such as USA Today and the Times of London, and broadcast transcripts from sources such as CBS News, CNN, FOX News and NPR. Some sources provide older content from several years ago, rather than up-to-date news.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
-
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
Oxford, OH Newspapers
-
Oxford Free PressThe Oxford Free Press is an independent nonprofit newspaper with 501(c)(3) status founded in June 2024. The Free Press is committed to local coverage of Oxford, the surrounding townships and the Talawanda School District.
-
The Miami StudentThe Miami Student is the official student-published newspaper at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, published weekly every Tuesday during the academic year. It traces its history back to the publication of the Literary Focus, beginning in 1826.
-
Oxford ObserverFrom 2017-2025 the Oxford Observer shared local news with the community of Oxford, Ohio, drawing expertise from journalism students at Miami University.
