Business Law
Best Bets - Law Databases
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowIncludes American Jurisprudence, Ohio Jurisprudence, and Corpus Juris Secundum, as well as a large collection of legal and news databases, including federal and state law, statutes and cases, transcripts of news programs and local sources.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull-text of the entire historical runs of many law journals with more being added regularly. Also included: the Federal Register (1936-1981), U.S. Reports (Supreme Court opinions), United States Treaties sets, international treaties, and many more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFind scholarly articles as well as magazine and newspaper articles. Useful for research on management, responses to lawsuits, bankruptcy, business ethics etc.
Finding Legal Encyclopedias, etc. and the Ohio Revised Code Annotated - instructions on how to efficiently find these sources online
Other Sources
- Legal Information Institute - Cornell LawEasy to understand but comprehensive guide to US law.
- LLSDC's Legislative Source BookWritten by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC. Thorough explanation of how federal law is written, how to find federal law and regulations, and more.
- CRS Reports - Official SiteCongressional Research Service (CRS) reports are non-partisan reports created for Congress members and staff to explain a topic. The official site has the most recent reports, however, some older reports may not be available.
- Every CRS ReportUnofficial site. Limit by date to see newer reports, and older reports that were not easily findable from the official site can often be found here.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowThis provides access to CIS Legislative Histories for public laws (legislative histories are collections of government documents that show the path from idea to law) as well as other government documents like hearings.
Nexis Uni for Students Course
- Nexis Uni for StudentsTraining provided by Nexis Uni. Covers searching as well as saving items to folders and creating alerts.
Federal Resources
Supreme Court Cases
- These are published in three legal reporters, United States (US) Reports the official reporter, Supreme Court Reporter (S. Ct.) published by West, United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition ( L. Ed., L. Ed. 2d) , published by Lexis. For a quick overview of Supreme Court cases try Oyez.org
6th Circuit Court of Appeals
- 6th Circuit Court of Appeals- Opinions can be found here
American Jurisprudence (Federal, State & Local) - Introduction to legal issues
State Print & Online Resources (Ohio)
- The Supreme Court of Ohio Law Library, Information SeriesPDF of Chapter 9, Ohio Legal Research
- Ohio State Court RecordsA detailed overview of how one goes about accessing court records in Ohio.
- Ohio Office of the ReporterCourt opinions from the Ohio Supreme Court and appellate district courts.
