Full-text database containing federal and state case law and statutes; federal regulations; selected tax law sources; legal news; law reviews; Canadian statutes, regulations and case law; European Union law; case law from selected countries; patents. . .
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
If single sign on fails use this url:
Full-text of the entire historical runs of more than 400 law journals with more being added regularly. Many are current to within the last couple of years. Other historical law sets available are the Federal Register (1936-1981), U.S. Reports (Supreme Court opinions), and United States Treaties sets. Some British historical documents included.
Contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices. From Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.
ProQuest Congressional offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress. It indexes Congressional publications from 1789 to the present and provides access to CIS Legislative Histories for public laws (1970-). Full text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-); committee reports (1830-); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/laws (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-1969) and Congressional Record.
Full-text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-Present); committee reports (1817-Present); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/U.S. Code (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-2003); Federal Register (1980-); and the Congressional Record, including the Annals of Congress (1789-1997). It also provides information about members and committees.
Full-text databases, finding aids, and other resources for locating federal government information. Databases cover congressional publications, laws, regulations, and key statistical and administrative publications such as the Economic Report of the President, the Budget of the U.S. Government, and the U.S. Government Manual.
Guides to Legal Research
Pocket Guide to Legal Research, Spiral Bound Version by William H. Putman
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
Legal Research in a Nutshell by Kent Olson
Publication Date: 2018-09-20
Foundations of Legal Research and Writing by Margie A. Hawkins; Carol M. Bast
Office Hours: Wednesdays 10- 11:15 254 Upham, History Department
Wednesdays 11:30-12:45 114 Harrison Hall, Political Science Building
Or find me on chat 9:00-12:00 Tuesdays and Thursdays and 3:00-6:00 on Wednesdays!