Asian-American Studies: Reference

Professional Organizations and Links

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
ONLINE Collection of over 100 reference e-books on many subjects which can be accessed individually or searched together as a single source

Dictionary of American History, 3rd ed. (M.U. only)
This basic 10-volume encyclopedia broadly covers not only the facts and events of American history, but also the social, cultural, and economic developments which caused those events.

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographies of individuals important in American history. Each entry contains a bibliography and locations(s) of the individual's papers and manuscripts. 5 simultaneous users. See also print copy, King Reference CT213 .A68 1999.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Collected from governmental and non-governmental resources. Contains statistics on social, behavioral, economics, government, finance, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, migration, trade and more. Allows for customization of data into tables.

Asian Nation: Asian American History, Demographics, and Issues
An "authoritative, one-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community" complied by a professor at U. Mass-Amherst.