Asian-American Studies: Newspapers, Images & Video

Images and Media

Asian in Ohio - Midstory
Oral histories from Asian-American communities in the United States

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Over 5000 videos on American history, including commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.

Chicago Tribune Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text image and indexing of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1985
It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Full text of the complete run of the New York Times, 1851-three years ago
Washington Post Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text image and indexing of the Washington Post from 1877-1990

Pacific Citizen Digital Archive
Important newspaper of the Japanese American Citizens League (JACL). Includes issues from 1929-1955.