Asian-American Studies: AAA/ENG/WGS 351

In class activity

In-class handout

Research Articles

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Index to academic research on women, gender studies, sexual diversity, gender identity, masculinity, feminism, and LGBTQ issues. 1930-present, although the bulk of the content is 1970s -present.
Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records, with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Archival and current content in the area of LGBT studies. Includes topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Articles on American history
Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article. For additional help in searching use the link in AHL.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on World History
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.

Archival Sources

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.

American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
American Memory
Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Calisphere: Asian Americans
University of California-sponsored digital archive of documents and images. Includes collections on Cambodian Americans, Chinese Americans, Filipino Americans, Hmong Americans, Japanese Americans, Korean Americans, Laotian Americans, Pacific Islanders, and Vietnamese Americans
More archives & online collections

Your Librarian

Katie Gibson

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

203 King Library

513-529-0190

Subjects: Area Studies, Asian Studies, Asian-American Studies, Black World Studies, French, German, Global and Intercultural Studies, International Studies, Italian, Languages, Latin American Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Spanish and Portuguese, Western (Individualized Studies)

Last Updated: Jul 24, 2024 11:10 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/asian-american
Print Page

Subjects: Area Studies, Asian-American Studies, Global and Intercultural Studies