Art Education: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Online Resources

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online encyclopedia of visual arts, with over 45,000 articles and biographies (with bibliographies), and over 130,000 images
Although the Benezit Dictionary of Art is included in search results, Miami does not subscribe to this portion, so you will not be able to access them. You will see a red lock icon by these entries. Wertz Art and Architecture Library's reference section has the 2006 Benezit Dictionary of Art in hardcopy.

Digest of Education Statistics (NCES)
Education statistics including: the number of schools and colleges; teachers; enrollments; graduates; educational attainment; finances, etc

Reference Books in Print

All of the books listed below are in the Reference area of the Art/Architecture library in Alumni Hall

General Resources

Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Education. N103 .H36 2004
Oxford Dictionary of Art. N33 .O93 2004

American/Regional

Artists in Ohio, 1787-1900. N6530.O3 H38 2000
Jacobsen's Biographical Index of American Artists. N6536 .J33 2002

Contemporary

Contemporary Architects. NA680 .C625 1994
Contemporary Artists. N6490 .C6567 2002
Contemporary Designers. NK1390 .C655 1997
Contemporary Masterworks. N6490 .C65675 1991
Contemporary Photographers. TR139 .C664 1995
Contemporary Women Artists. N8354 .C66 1999
Encyclopedia of 20th-century Architecture. NA680 .E495 2004
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-century Photography. TR642 .E5 2005

African American

African Americans in the Visual Arts. N6538.N5 O86 2003
Encyclopedia of African American Artists. N6538.N5 J44 2009
African-American Architects. NA736 .A47 2004

Latin American

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art. N6502. E53 2000
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era. N6502.4 .S45 2003
St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American Artists. N6538.H58 S7 2002

Women

North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: A Biographical Dictionary. N6503 .N67 1995
Dictionary of Women Artists. N8354 .D53 1997

Fine Arts Call Numbers

Most art and architecture books are in the basement floor of the Art/Architecture Library in Alumni Hall.

N - Fine Arts books
     N - Visual Arts
     NA - Architecture
     NB - Sculpture
     NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration
     ND - Painting
     NE - Print Media
     NK - Decorative Arts
     NX - Arts in General

SB - Landscape Architecture

T - Technology
     TH - Building Construction
     TR - Photography
     TT - Handicratfts, Arts & Crafts

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2024 2:48 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/arteducation
Print Page

Subjects: Art and Architecture, Education