Art Education: Databases & Journal Articles

Indexes & Databases - Art and Architecture

These are indexes and databases for journals and museum publications specializing in art or architecture

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of over 600 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins from 1984 to present. Full-text of many articles from 1995 -.
Coverage is broad and includes art history, architecture, advertising, archaeology, crafts, fine arts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, jewelry, film, and photography. This database also cites art reproductions used to illustrate articles or advertisements. full-text is available for selected journals starting from 1997. Abstracts available for articles published after 1994. Citations indexed from 1929-present. Art full-text continues Art Abstracts and Art Index.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and 220 books related to art and architecture.
Also provides selective coverage for additional publications and an immense Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index of over 600 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins from 1929-1984. Continued by Art Full Text.
Feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, reproduction of works of art, notices of competitions and awards and letters to the editor are indexed. Subjects covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, crafts, and much more.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of international journals, books, theses, and exhibitions on modern and contemporary art. Sources include journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
Subject coverage is broad and includes traditional media (e.g. drawing, painting, printmaking, sculpture), as well as decorative and applied arts (e.g. ceramics, fashion, graphic design, jewelry, textiles) and newer art forms (e.g. body art, computer and electronic art, installations, performance art, video art). While the focus is on late-19th and 20th Century art, coverage also extends back to include information about the influence of earlier artists. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. Includes Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA)
BHA and RILA contain records for art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 1200 periodicals in many languages. They are particularly strong in European art from the medieval through modern periods and in the indexing of foreign language materials. RILA records date from 1975-1989, while BHA records date from 1990-2007.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive index of articles from architectural journals and magazines. Oxford users only.
It indexes journal articles from over 2500 periodicals worldwide, and covers many publications not indexed in any other source, including literature from professional associations, regional periodicals, and book and exhibition reviews.

OpenBibArt
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS).

OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.

Indexes and Databases - Education

ERIC
ERIC currently indexes more than 600 journals. In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format - at no charge.
Education Research Complete
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Professional Development Collection for Educators
A highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Indexes & Databases - General

These are large, multidisciplinary indexes or databases that include information about art or architectural history. Some of these indexes offer full-text online journal articles.

Academic Search Complete
The broadest, most general index to periodicals, providing abstracts for over 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, and full text for more than 5,300 of these.
more...less...
Our broadest, most general index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for over 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, and full text for more than 5,300 of these. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Updates daily
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database for humanities journal articles in archeology, architecture, art, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television and film, religion, and theater.
more...less...
A huge, multidisciplinary database indexing over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. AHCI covers archeology, architecture, art, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television and film, religion, and theater. The unique feature of this database is the Cited Reference Search, which finds how many times a work has been cited by other articles and identifies where they were cited. Updates weekly.
JSTOR: Journal Storage Project
Archives scholarship published in over 1,000 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The most recently published issues are not available.
more...less...
Full-text archive of important scholarly periodicals in the Arts, Business, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences. JSTOR titles include a "moving wall" with a delay of one to ten years before making them available within the database. Topics covered include: African Studies, Anthropology, Art & Art History, Asian Studies, Biology, Business, Ecology, Economics, Education, General Science, History, Language & Literature, Law, Mathematics, Middle East Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, Statistics, and Zoology.
EJC: OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center
Database of over 12.2 million full-text journal articles from many subject areas.
more...less...
Provides the full text of electronic journals from specific publishers in the Sciences, and to a lesser extent in the Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. This collection consists of electronic journals from Elsevier, Blackwell, Kluwer, Springer-Verlag, Wiley, Sage, Project Muse, Oxford, Cambridge, and others. The Electronic Journal Center (EJC) also provides notification via email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

Where is the article?

Click on the "Find it!" icon to find more information about where to get the actual article once you find it in an index or database.

If the article is available online, you will see a link to it.

If the article is available in print, you will see a library location (e.g. King Library) and a call number. Go to that library's periodicals section and look up the call number. Make sure you write down the volume, issue, and year of your article before you go.

If no copies are available, click on the link that says "InterLibrary Loan Options." Click on "Journal Article" and fill out the info. We will try to find the article for you and mail or email it to you.

Info about journals

"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Tips:

Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2024 2:48 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/arteducation
Print Page

Subjects: Art and Architecture, Education