Art Education: Citation Guide
Online Resources for Citation
- Citation MachineWeb tool that automatically generates citations in APA style and others
- APA Style Quick GuideExamples of APA style, from the APA organization website
- OWL guide to APA StyleQuick guide to using APA Style, with examples
Common Citation Styles for Art Education
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433805615Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010 (King Ref, Art/Arch Ref, Hamilton, Middletown)ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01Online and print versions available. The Notes-Bibliography system of Chicago Style is most commonly used in coursework.
Citation Management Programs
The following programs can help you manage your citations/references, keep notes, and integrate citations with your papers
- ZoteroFree Firefox plugin that collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else.
- MendeleyDownloadable, cross-platform application that helps you manage references and annotate research paper collections. You can also set up collaborative projects, work and discuss in groups, and share data on Mendeley’s web platform.
Citing Images
How you cite an image will depend on which citation style you are using. However, the basic information you may need includes the following:
- Artist's name
- Title of work
- Date of creation
- Museum, repository, or owner (where is the image/work of art located?)
- City or country of origin
- Dimensions of the work
- Material or medium (e.g. oil on canvas, marble, etc.)
If you found the image in a book, you will also need the author, title, publisher information, date, page, and figure or plate number of the reproduction. If you found the image online, you will need an access date, the web site address (URL), and, in some cases, an image ID number.
Some professors will ask you to create a bibliographic entry for each image used in a paper. Others will prefer that you include relevant citation information within an image's caption (right under the image). If citing images as a bibliographic entry, follow the general rules of citation for either a still image or a film, for Chicago or MLA style.
Image Captions
There is no absolute standard for captioning images. However, consider the following examples (from Sylvan Barnet, A Short Guide to Writing About Art):
Captions should be numbered consecutively. Since authors are responsible for obtaining reproduction permissions, captions will reflect the institutions' requirements and those of the photographer. Provide the shortest possible form: by the gracious permission of Her Majesty the Queen [equals] by permission of H.M. the Queen.
1. Castiglione, Crucifixion. Genoa, Palazzo Bianco (photo: Frick Art Reference Library)
2. Pietro Bernini, Bust of Scipio (or Scipio). Rome, S. Giovanni Dei Fiorentini (photo: Davis Lees, Rome)
3. Attributed to Cherubino Alberti, engraving after Florence Cathedral Pieta, ca, 1572. Vienna, Albertina (courtesy J. Held)
4. Parthenon, east frieze (detail) (from A. Smith, The Parthenon, New York, 1975, pl. 2)*
* include reference to this book in your bibliography
5. Tree of Vices, Le Verger de Soulas, northern French, ca. 1290. Paris, Bibl. Nat. MS fr. 9220, fol, 10r (photo: Bibl. Nat.)
6. Roman sarcophagus, Death of Meleager (detail). Paris, Louvre (photo: Alinari)
This is another example of a citation, from ARTstor's website:
Haystacks. Claude Monet. 1890. In ARTstor [database online]. [cited 22 October 2004]. Available from ARTstor, Inc., New York, New York.