Sociology: Find Articles
Social Sciences Databases
-
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
-
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains information on the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Additional topics include: addictions, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, education, human services, mental health, therapy. 8 simultaneous users.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
Education Databases
These databases are useful for research on topics related to education or children in general.
-
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for education research. An index from the US Department of Education that has been around since 1964 ,with some full-text access.
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
Medical and Health Studies Databases
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
-
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
Legal Cases
-
Transactional Records Access ClearninghouseProvides current criminal and civil cases and data on immigration, labor, DEA, ATF, FBI, and more.
-
The FOIA ProjectProvides information on Freedom of Information Act cases
Basic Search in Multiple EBSCOhost Databases
What is peer review?
Peer review is the process by which articles are selected for publication in academic/scholarly journals. The articles are evaluated for accuracy, proper research methodology, and the correct interpretation and use of data by other experts in the field. No other publications undergo this level of vetting.
How do I know if something is peer reviewed?
If you are looking for peer reviewed articles, there are a number of ways to locate them. One way is to limit your database searches to only articles in peer reviewed publications. Many databases allow you to do this. For example, most EBSCO Host databases have a box labeled "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" in the limiters section under the main search boxes.
Why would I want an article?
Primary article:
A primary article, sometimes called a primary resource, contains original research on a topic.
Review article:
A review article, sometimes called a secondary resource, summarizes research on a topic.