Neuroscience: Tests, Measures & Data
Data Sources
- ICPSR Direct This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest archive to computerized social science data at the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
Many datasets are provided with online analysis tools or with SAS, SPSS and Stata setup files for advanced statistical analysis. - Statista This link opens in a new windowIntegrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, politics, and more. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Data Planet This link opens in a new windowA data download and visualization tool hosting social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, education and more.
- APA Links to Datasetshttps://www.apa.org/research/responsible/data-links
- CDC Wonder: Centers for Disease Control and PreventionContains data on health, disease and death, and population estimates. Useful for public health research, decision making, program evaluation, and more.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)Government data reporting on the condition on Education in U.S. Includes international education reports.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data ArchiveSAMHDA provides public use data files and documentation related to collection, analysis, and dissemination of behavioral health data. Data sets can be downloaded in variety of formats, including SAS, SPSS, Stata, etc.
- U.S. Census Bureau - Statistical Abstracts DataComprehensive data on social, political, and economic organization of the United States. (1878- on)
Data Websites
- The National Library of Medicine Data DistributionProvides free government data in areas of biomedical, genetic and drug toxicology research.
- Comparative Toxicogenomics DatabaseProvides data describing cross-species chemical-gene/protein interactions and chemical-and gene-disease relationships. The results provide insight into the molecular mechanisms underlying diseases.
Tests & Measures
- HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new windowProvides assessment batteries in Psychology, Medicine, Nursing, Communication and more. Provides validity, reliability, and other related data. Refine search by measure, population, or variables of interest. Includes questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists,projective techniques, and more. Linked to from scholarly articles indexed in PsycINFO when relevant.
- PsycTESTS (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowReady-to-use tests and measures featuring instruments relevant to psychology, education and more. Provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. Detailed test records include a summary, background information, development history, purpose, reliability and validity data (when available), test format and the citation for the peer-reviewed source documents.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new windowContains information about standardized tests. Includes IQ and achievement skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Information about each test includes the test author, publication and scoring information, an overview of the test, and the full text of one or more reviews in which validity is often addressed.
- Australian Center on Quality of Life MeasuresList of Quality of Life Measures for various populations and topics (older adults, psychiatry, etc.)
- ETS Test CollectionMore than 25,000 tests and measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation in the world.
- Questionnaire Instrument Compendium (QIC)Links to free assessments provided by author.
- Tests and Measures in the Social SciencesAn index to tests and measurement tools used in psychology, sociology, health, marketing, management, and more. Each entry contains: test title, test acronym, copyright or publication date(s), author(s), and source citation.