Neuroscience: Find Articles
Best Bets
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowContains over 30 million citations covering medicine, allied health and neuroscience. Search a subset of PubMed's result using Medline.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProvides quality sciences resources. Particularly useful for demonstrating metrics/impact of resources in the field.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPremier source for high quality psychology and related fields resources.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality resource in the fields of medicine and allied health. Includes Systematic Reviews, Register of Controlled Trials and more.
Other Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is a general-purpose database that includes material from most disciplines.It can be particularly helpful if you are looking for "popular science" magazine or newspaper articles. However, don't rely on it exclusively for peer-reviewed research in psychology.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.
Effectiveness of Reviews Pyramid
There is a range in quality of evidence available in the literature, with systematic reviews being the very highest quality. As you move up the pyramid, the amount of literature decreases but its clinical relevance increases.
![Pyramid hierarchy of evidence from bottom up: background information/expert opinion; case studies; cohort studies; randomized controlled trials; critically-appraised individual articles [article synopses]; critically-appraised topics [evidence syntheses]; systematic reviews](https://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/35181/ebm_pyramid.gif)
Open Archives Repository
- PsyArXivProvides free Open Access Preprints of Psychology articles. Includes Neuroscience, Social and Behavioral Sciences and more.
- BioRxivProvides free Open Access Preprints of Biology including Neuroscience,
- SocArXivProvides free Open Access Preprints of social sciences resources. Includes Education, Law, Social and Behavioral Sciences and more.
- Ohio Research CommonsProvides articles, theses, conference papers, and more from participating institutions in Ohio. Includes resources from all disciplines.
- Semantic ScholarScholarly articles in medicine and computer science. Many articles are free. Others are behind paywalls.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databases for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
Info about journals
"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Tips:
- Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
- Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
- Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")