Neuroscience: Graduate & Faculty Resources
Resources & Tools to Explore
- Citation ManagerUtilize a citation manager of your choice to organize your research and help you develop a bibliography in the proper citation format. Be sure to explore Word plug-ins that help with in-text citations as well!
- Google Scholar ButtonThis is a Chrome plug-in that allows you to search Google Scholar without opening a new page. Customize so you can easily access the "Find it @MiamiOH" (i.e. access full-text options). Google 'google scholar button' for other plug-ins for other browsers.
Resources for journal information & impact
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
NOTE: When prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR), accessed via Web of Science, provides you with the transparent, publisher-neutral data and statistics you need to make confident decisions in today’s evolving scholarly publishing landscape, whether you’re submitting your first manuscript or managing a portfolio of thousands of publications. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- APA Journal StatisticsSummary reports that include rejection rates, circulation data, publication lag time, and other statistics for journals published by the American Psychological Association.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive publisher information including peer-review status, open access availability and more. Coverage includes academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. Useful when making publishing decisions.
Publishing & Open Access Resources
- Open Access Publication FundsLinks to resources to fund publications in Open Access journals and books.
*Prior to publishing in Open Access resource, ensure that you are publishing in high-quality Open Access resource (not predatory publisher). Contact your librarian with any questions. - Author RightsAn informational brochure about your rights as an author and about the process of reviewing a publisher agreement. An author addendum is provided.
Create a unique identifier for yourself
- ORCIDORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized.
Looking for an (open access) place to publish your work?
- Scholarly CommonsMiami's Institutional Repository. Create your own profile, customize your page, and upload your work.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDirectory of open access journals which can be browsed by title, subject area as well as searched.
Know (& negotiate) your rights as an author!
- Sherpa/RoMEOSearchable database of publisher copyright and self-archiving policies.
Publication Resources
Write It Up: Practical Strategies for Writing and Publishing Journal Articles by Chapters include how and when to pick a journal, writing with others, writing each section of the article, resubmitting and more. Click on the title or book cover to access this ebook.
Resources for Lab Instructors
Lab Manual for Psychological Research by Call Number: BEST Library, Reserves, Information Desk | BF76.5 .M375 2016Publication Date: 2016Includes checklists, how-to sections, and exercises focusing on research methods, research projects, APA style, and avoiding plagiarism. Ask for it at the desk in BEST -- 3 day checkout.
