Physics: PHY 101
Course Info
PHY 101, Physics and Society | Professor Vishwanath | Spring 2024
Please contact the physics librarian (Kristen) with any questions accessing or using the library.
Finding Popular Science Articles
Part of the weekly homework for this course includes finding a good science article from a popular news paper or magazine and summarizing it.
What makes a popular source different from a scholarly source?
| Popular Sources | Scholarly Sources | |
|---|---|---|
| Who | Science communicators or journalists to general audiences | Researchers to researchers |
| What | News | Scientific research studies |
| When | Publication can happen quickly | Publication is a long process |
| Where | Websites, magazines, newspapers, blogs | Scholarly journals |
| Why | Communicate scientific news outside the field | Contribute to findings in the field |
| How | No peer review | Peer-review process |
Suggested Sources
Some Notes:
This list is intended to provide you some options but isn't comprehensive, feel welcome to use sources beyond this list.
Some sources are magazine or newspaper titles that are accessed through their own interface, or database. Others are accessed through a database (perhaps more than one database) with many other journals, magazines or newspapers.
All sources are available to you on-campus or off, but you'll need to sign in with your standard Miami credentials - the login screen will be the familiar one you see with Canvas, email, and MyMiami.
- Time MagazineAvailable in several databases, this link takes you to a list of those options.
- Science NewsAvailable in several databases, this link takes you to a list of those options.
- Popular MechanicsAvailable in several databases, this link takes you to a list of those options.
- New ScientistAvailable in several databases, this link takes you to a list of those options.
PLEASE NOTE: our access is current but has a one month delay on the full text. - Scientific AmericanAvailable in several databases, this link takes you to a list of those options.
- Washington PostAvailable in several databases, this link takes you to a list of those options.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
