Nursing (Oxford): Home

Welcome!

This guide contains information about different resources and tools the Library provides for nursing students, faculty, and staff. Whether you are an experienced researcher or are new to the field, this guide should have useful information.

Best Bets

The resources here are those I think will be most useful for the majority of questions you may have. Other pages on this guide contain other resources and more in-depth information in case you can't find what you need here.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
At core Access Medicine is a set of clinical and bioscience ebooks. Beyond that it includes case reports, several quick reference databases (e.g. drug lookup), multimedia content, and testing material.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
120 of today's top journals used by physician assistants, nurses, students, and health professionals, as well as a premier nursing and allied health database.

A Word about PubMed & MEDLINE

PubMed is the search interface (engine) to the medical literature index MEDLINE. You can search PubMed from home as it is a government website. Searching PubMed is free but accessing many of the articles and other sources often requires you to be logged in to the campus network.

Therefore, there is an advantage to using PubMed through the Libraries' website. This version links to full text articles in our libraries' holdings. You know whether you can get the complete article instantly, freely. Use the gold "Find It" button, which takes you from the citation to the complete article, if available. If unavailable, use Interlibrary Loan.

MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed, developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine. It uses its own indexing system of medical subject headings (MeSH), which can make your searching more focused. Access to MEDLINE is available in many public libraries, medical libraries, and commercial services.

In addition to the PubMed interface, Miami Libraries subscribes to two additional MEDLINE interfaces, through EBSCOhost and Web of Science. Depending on your familiarity with these search platforms, you may prefer to use one of them over PubMed.

Another helpful service is MEDLINEPLUS, which contains consumer health information for patients and family members.

To learn more about the differences between these resources, please see this comparison page from the National Library of Medicine.