Nursing: Searching for Evidence
Where can I find different types of evidence?
Different research databases and tools contain different type of information. Before you start searching, you should think about what kind of evidence you need. Some of the top databases for each information type that we have available for you to use are below. This is not an exhaustive list; check out the other nursing databases on our Databases A-Z for a full listing of our relevant subscriptions.
Filtered Information (Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses)
This kind of evidence can be difficult to find. There are a couple of specialized databases that primarily contain filtered information like this, and there are others that are a bit more general and which require some additional tricks.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making (e.g., systematic reviews). Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
Add to your search string AND systematic[sb] to retrieve systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and other evidence syntheses. -
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Use the Publication Type filter below the main search boxes to choose Meta Analysis, Meta Synthesis, and Systematic Review options.
Unfiltered Information (RCTs, Cohort, Case-Controlled, and Case Studies)
This information is primarily found in research databases like those listed below. Check out the Database Tutorials page to learn more about how to effectively search for evidence in these resources.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
-
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Background Information and Expert Opinion
This information is primarily found in Point-of-Care tools, like those listed below. Many of these also have mobile apps you can install.
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUsers must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu email address, in order to use UpToDate or UpToDate LexiDrug. Users must also renew their account every 90 days. The sign-in for UpToDate and UpToDate LexiDrug, are the same.
UpToDate is a point-of-care tool meant to support clinical decision making. Its entries synthesize information from studies and other evidence to provide background info and recommendations for practice. -
UpToDate LexiDrug This link opens in a new windowUsers must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu email address, in order to use UpToDate or UpToDate LexiDrug. Users must also renew their account every 90 days. The sign-in for UpToDate and UpToDate LexiDrug, are the same.
UpToDate LexiDrug is a drug reference tool meant to inform medication decisions for individual patients. -
Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowAt its core, Access Medicine is a set of clinical and bioscience ebooks. It also includes case reports, several quick reference databases (e.g. drug lookup), multimedia content, and testing material.
-
VisualDx This link opens in a new windowUsers must create an account providing your @miamioh.edu email address, while on campus, in order to access and use this resource while off campus. VisualDX can only be used off campus while logged in to your account. If you are a distance student who needs to use this resource and do not already have an account, please contact your subject librarian.
visualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system, designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include: the world’s best curated medical image library; leading skin of color atlas; smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions; and custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder.
