Nursing: Database Tutorials

Best Bets for Finding Evidence

The databases listed below are the that are likely to be the most useful for the largest number of researchers in your discipline here at Miami. If you are having trouble finding what you need from these, you can either check out the full list of nursing and health databases we subscribe to on our Databases A-Z page, or you can contact one of your subject librarians (Krista or Ginny) for help.

PubMed

PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.

MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

PubMed is an important database for the life and health sciences.

This first video below will show you how to best search for relevant articles using a sample topic.

This next video will show you around the PubMed interface, including how to use filters to narrow your results and how to access the full-text (video will start at 1:37).

CINAHL Plus

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

CINAHL Plus is a nursing and allied health database, and is one of our best options for healthcare and related research. The video below will show you some best practices for searching using the subtopics and keywords you selected for your research question.