Newspapers: Historical Newspapers

Offers full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal 1889-18 years ago. Every issue includes the complete paper, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

Digital collection of local African American newspapers across the United States chronicling life, thought and culture. Miami has Series 1 (1827-1998) and 2 (1835-1956) from selected states.

Full-text page and article images for the Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841-2009.

Contains campaign newspapers for the 1860 Presidential campaign and magazines and newspapers sympathetic to the Confederacy, Union, and Abolitionism. 1860-1865.

Full-text collection of selected English literary, theatrical, and creative arts periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture. Late 17th to early 20th centuries.

Full-text page and article images of the Sunday edition of the Times, London newspaper. The Sunday Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the daily edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006

Offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper, from its first issue to the end of 2010. Every individual article, advertisement, and market listing is included; they can be viewed individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

A weekly English language publication providing comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments, and cultural events in Russia.

Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the "father of Soviet literature," writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. With its focus on literary and intellectual life, Literaturnaia gazeta allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. Literaturnaia gazeta was considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, and it remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia.

Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper's short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). This database offers the most comprehensive collection available for this title, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.

Part of the World Newspaper Archive, a searchable database of diverse 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America and is divided into Series 1 (1805-1922) and Series 2 (1822-1922) including content from newspapers published throughout South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.

English language, full-text news sources and foreign language news. Coverage: Varies for each publication, but earliest is 1980-.

Full-text translations of intercepted and clandestine broadcasts from foreign governments and occupied territories, and official news services. (1941 - 1996)

Full-text page and article images of Harpers Weekly, an important 19th century political and social magazine. 1857-1871.

Oxford campus users only. Republican/conservative news, commentary, and opinion. 1955-present.

Oxford campus users only. Journals/magazine containing political opinion as well as art and society. Contains articles from many award-winning writers and critics from many fields. Trends progressive. 1914 - .

First published in 1902, the Times Literary Supplement offers coverage of significant publications, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviews current, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions. This database of TLS articles from 1902-2007 is a resource for the study of modern literature and culture.