Newspapers: National U.S. Newspapers
Newspaper Website Subscriptions
Miami University students, faculty, and staff are eligible for full subscriber access to the online versions of the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Full-Text Newspaper Databases
These databases allow users to search for newspaper content across thousands of newspapers with a focus on recent (rather than historical) content.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationThe source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEnglish and Spanish full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethinc press.
- Factiva (M. U. only)This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- LexisNexis NewsFull-text of over 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many on the same day of publication. There are also news broadcast transcripts.
- Newspaper Source (M. U. only)Indexing for selected articles from hundreds of newspapers, often but not always with full text.
Current Newspaper Indexing Without Full Text
- Alternative Press IndexIndex to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals.
Listings of Newspaper Websites
- US Newspaper ListLinks to newspapers and TV stations in the United States.