Maker Scholarship: Intro to 3D Modeling
This guide contains information on how the Makerspace can be incorporated into courses. It also contains a variety of learning modules on topics related to making and innovation.
Free 3D Modeling Software
There are a multitude of options out there in terms of 3D modeling software. Here's a list of software that is either totally open-source or available for free for educators and students:
Note: for Autodesk software, register to download free copies under an educational license here: https://www.autodesk.com/education/free-software/featured
- Autodesk AutocadA professional-level CAD software used by engineers, architects, and designers.
- Autodesk Fusion 360A CAD, CAM, and CAE software, great for product and prototype design and engineering products.
- Autodesk MayaA 3D animation software great for modeling and rendering 3D worlds.
- BlenderAn open-source 3D modeling software, great for artistic projects like animation and digital sculpting.
- TinkercadTinkercad is a simple, online 3D modeling software. It's a great place to start if you've never 3D modeled before!
3D Modeling Tutorials
Beginner
- How To: Use Tinkercad 3D Design Software 101From Matterhackers, this is an introductory video tutorial on using Tinkercad.
- Learn 3D Modeling: Blender Basics in Under 2 HoursA free course on Blender 3D modeling software from Udemy.
- Modeling for Absolute Beginners - BlenderA video tutorial on the open-source 3D modeling software Blender.
- Tinkercad - LearnTinkercad, a program accessed through your web browser with no download required, is a great place to start learning 3D modeling. The tutorials provided at this link will get you started with Tinkercad.
Intermediate
- Instructables - Autodesk Fusion 360A collection of Instructables that focus on Autodesk Fusion 360, a 3D modeling software that you can download for free with an educational license.
- Autodesk Maya TutorialsA collection of resources for the 3D modeling software Maya, by Autodesk.
Advanced
- Learn - AutoCADAutoCAD is a professional-level CAD software that is widely used by architects, engineers, and designers. This collection of videos will help you get started with this software.
Ebooks from Miami University Libraries
3D Modeling and Printing with Tinkercad by
The First Complete Guide to Tinkercad: 3D Modeling That's Powerful, Friendly, & Free! Want to master 3D modeling and printing? Tinkercad is the perfect software for you: It's friendly, web-based, and free. Even better, you don't have to rely on Tinkercad's technical documentation to use it. This easy, full-color guide is packed with photos and projects that bring 3D modeling to life! No 3D or CAD experience? No problem: Best-selling author James Floyd Kelly teaches you step-by-step through simple examples and hands-on activities. You'll learn all the concepts and techniques you need...build your skills, comfort, and confidence...and create exciting projects that show off Tinkercad's full power. Learning 3D with your kids? You'll even find projects you can work on together! Quickly master the basic 3D concepts you need to understand Navigate Tinkercad's Dashboard and tool set Create your first 3D model and control its properties Save time by incorporating publicly available elements Import hand sketches or SVG graphics into your models Use the Shape Generator to create custom shapes Add raised text and other embellishments Assemble multiple pieces into a more sophisticated model Make realistic prototypes Output molds for creating items from soft materials Transform models into STL files for printing Get great results from an online 3D printing service Move your 3D objects into the Minecraft virtual world Find answers to your most important Tinkercad questions Discover tools for tasks Tinkercad can't handle Learn from others! Explore projects at Thingiverse and the Gallery
ISBN: 9780789754905Publication Date: 2014-06-03
A Beginner's Guide to 3D Modeling by
The rise of enthusiast 3D printing and CNC machining has created a need for 3D CAD modelling skills, but CAD has traditionally been associated with a steep learning curve. With CAD for Beginners, you'll learn the basics of 3D CAD modelling all the way to advanced modelling using Autodesk Fusion 360, the cloud powered 3D CAD/CAM tool. In this practical guide, you'll start by learning the principles of parametric modelling and basic modelling and assembly methods. Then, you'll move into advanced modelling concepts like 3D sketching and splines, helixes and ribs, technical drawing, and rendering.
ISBN: 9781593279264Publication Date: 2019-06-11
Fusion 360 for Makers by
Learn how to use Autodesk Fusion 360 to digitally model your own original projects for a 3D printer or a CNC device. Fusion 360 software lets you design, analyze, and print your ideas. Free to students and small businesses alike, it offers solid, surface, organic, direct, and parametric modeling capabilities. Fusion 360 for Makers is written for beginners to 3D modeling software by an experienced teacher. It will get you up and running quickly with the goal of creating models for 3D printing and CNC fabrication. Inside Fusion 360 for Makers, you'll find: Eight easy-to-understand tutorials that provide a solid foundation in Fusion 360 fundamentals DIY projects that are explained with step-by-step instructions and color photos Projects that have been real-world tested, covering the most common problems and solutions Stand-alone projects, allowing you to skip to ones of interest without having to work through all the preceding projects first Design from scratch or edit downloaded designs. Fusion 360 is an appropriate tool for beginners and experienced makers.
ISBN: 9781680453553Publication Date: 2018-05-29
Introduction to AutoCAD by
Introduction to AutoCAD 2020 addresses advances in technology and introduces students to 2-dimensional drawing skills and commands using the 2020 release of AutoCAD. Straightforward explanations focus on actual drawing procedures, and illustrations show what to expect on the computer screen. It continuously builds on concepts covered in previous chapters, contains exercises combined with in-text notes, and offers examples that provide the "how and why" of AutoCAD fundamentals. Projects are included at the end of each chapter and provide hands-on experience creating various types of mechanical, architectural, civil, and electrical drawings. This text is appropriate for introductory and intermediate AutoCAD courses. Introduces AutoCAD, drafting skills, editing techniques, working with complex objects, annotating drawings, outputting your work, advanced drawing and construction methods, and collaborating with others on the web. Pedagogy reinforces learning objectives throughout, with chapter objectives; key term definitions; command grids that concisely offer multiple ways of achieving task at hand; and discipline icons that identify the field of study throughout. "New" version icons highlight new software features quickly. Hands-on exercises appear throughout the text to reinforce learning, and end-of-chapter projects require students to demonstrate a full understanding of the concepts presented in the chapter. Introduction to AutoCAD 2020 provides students with the tools they need to develop drafting skills with AutoCAD.
ISBN: 9780135576328Publication Date: 2019-08-22
Learning Blender by
Master the Newest Blender Techniques for Creating Amazing 3D Characters: From Design and Modeling to Video Compositing Now fully updated for Blender 2.78b and beyond, Learning Blender, Second Edition, walks you through every step of creating an outstanding 3D animated character with Blender, and then compositing it in a real video using a professional workflow. This edition covers the powerful new selection and modeling tools, as well as high-efficiency improvements related to other parts of the project such as texture painting, shading, rigging, rendering, and compositing. Still the only Blender tutorial to take you from preproduction to final result, this guide is perfect for both novices and those moving from other software to Blender (open source and free software). Author Oliver Villar provides full-color, hands-on chapters that cover every aspect of character creation: design, modeling, unwrapping, texturing, shading, rigging, animation, and rendering. He also walks you through integrating your animated character into a real-world video, using professional camera tracking, lighting, and compositing techniques. The rich companion website (blendtuts.com/learning-blender-files) will help you quickly master even the most complex techniques with bonus contents like video tutorials. By the time you're done, you'll be ready to create outstanding characters for all media--and you'll have up-to-date skills for any 3D project, whether it involves characters or not. Learn Blender's updated user interface, navigation, and selection techniques Create your first scene with Blender and the Blender Render and Cycles render engines Organize an efficient, step-by-step pipeline to streamline workflow in any project Master modeling, unwrapping, and texturing Bring your character to life with materials and shading Create your character's skeleton and make it walk Use Camera Tracking to mix 3D objects into a real-world video Transform a raw rendered scene into the final result using Blender's compositing nodes
ISBN: 9780134663463Publication Date: 2017-04-03
