Making From Home Resources: Vector Drawing
Free Vector Drawing Software
Here's a list of vector drawing software that is either totally open-source or available for free for educators and students:
- InkscapeA free and open-source graphics editor and design software.
- VectrA free vector drawing software that works entirely in your web browser - no download required.
- Boxy SVGA web-based SVG editor that is known for its simplicity and ease of use.
- Vecteezy EditorA simplistic web-based vector editor that allows you to edit and merge vector designs.
- Adobe Illustrator - Free checkout from Miami University LibrariesVirtually check out Adobe Creative Cloud from Miami University Libraries, which includes Adobe Illustrator, a great tool for vector drawing.
Vector Drawing Tutorials
- Inkscape - Official TutorialsA collection of official tutorials, officially-endorsed tutorials, and user-recommended tutorials from Inkscape.
- Inkscape TutorialsA Youtube playlist of Inkscape tutorials that will take you from the very basics to the creation of complex designs.
- Vectr - TutorialsA collection of official tutorials for the free vector graphics software Vectr. Most are project-based, so you can learn to create things like business cards, logos, or social media content.
- Illustrator TutorialsA collection of official Adobe Illustrator tutorials, organized into courses, such as "Getting Started" or "Beginner Drawing".
Ebooks from Miami University Libraries
Inkscape by
Inkscape: Guide to a Vector Drawing Program, Fourth Edition, is the guide to the Inkscape program. With coverage of versions 0.47 and 0.48, this authoritative introduction and reference features hundreds of useful illustrations.Using Inkscape, you can produce a wide variety of art, from photorealistic drawings to organizational charts. Inkscape uses SVG, a powerful vector-based drawing language and W3C web standard, as its native format. SVG drawings can be viewed directly in browsers such as Firefox, Opera, Chrome, Safari, and Internet Explorer 9. A subset of SVG has been adopted by the mobile phone market. Inkscape is available free for Windows,Macintosh, and Linux operating systems. nbsp; Systematic coverage of the entire Inkscape program begins with twelve tutorials ranging in difficulty from very basic to highly complex. A new tutorial introduces the use of interactive SVG in HTML5.The remainder of the book covers each facet of Inkscape in detail, with an emphasis on practical solutions for common problems. The book is filled with valuable tips and warnings about the use of Inkscape and SVG. Find dozens of Inkscape illustrations from the book in the online color supplement available athttp://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/. nbsp; Updated for Inkscape version 0.48, this edition includes complete coverage of new features, including the new Spray Tool, updated Node and Text tools, improved bitmap image import, LaTeX export for PDF/EPS/PS, added extensions including the JessyInk extension for web-based presentations, the adaptive UI, and the new Glyphs dialog. nbsp; Complete Coverage of New and Improved Inkscape 0.48 Features Live Path Effects for tasks such as adding patterns along a path while maintaining complete editability More than two hundred pre-built SVG filters for adding textures, manipulating color, and so forth A tiling tool to create complex tilings with thirteen different symmetries Clipping and Masking objects An integrated spell checker Built-in bitmap-to-vector tracing The ability to export to more than a dozen graphics formats, including PDF and PostScript The ability to import from more than two dozen graphics formats, including PDF, Adobe Illustrator, Corel Draw, AutoCad, and XFig Graphics Complete vector drawing program supporting the W3C SVG standard Three path-drawing tools (Pencil, Pen, Calligraphy) Five shape-drawing tools (Rectangles, Ellipses, Stars, Spirals, 3D Boxes) Linear and Radial Gradients Pattern fills Tweak Tool for fine adjustment of paths and colors Spray Tool Eraser Tool with both Vector and Bitmap modes Sophisticated snapping for precision drawing and aligning objects Extendable through scripting; more than one hundred scripts included
ISBN: 9780132764148Publication Date: 2011-05-06
Adobe Illustrator CC Classroom in a Book by
Creative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe Illustrator CC (2019 release) choose Adobe Illustrator CC Classroom in a Book (2019 release) from the best-selling series of hands-on software training workbooks from Adobe Press. The 15 project-based lessons show users the key techniques for realizing your creative potential with Adobe Illustrator CC. Following hands-on step-by-step projects, users create logos, illustrations, posters, and more. Explore the new streamlined Tools panel and all of the features essential for being creative in Illustrator, including working with the Shaper tool and Live Shapes along with dynamic symbols to streamline graphics creation. Create website assets and export them in multiple formats to support modern responsive web designs. From exacting illustration to free-form painting, you'll build a strong foundation in Illustrator as you progress through the lessons. The online companion files include all the necessary assets for readers to complete the projects featured in each. All buyers of the book get full access to the Web Edition: A Web-based version of the complete ebook enhanced with video and multiple-choice quizzes.
ISBN: 9780135262160Publication Date: 2019-03-22
