Latin American Studies: Find Books

Call Numbers

Library of Congress call numbers group books by topic.
Because Latin American Studies is often interdisciplinary, there is no one call number range that covers all materials pertaining to Latin America.
The following are some you might find useful.

Latin American History (includes Caribbean countries)
F1201-3799

Environmental Sciences
GE1-350

Anthropology
GN560

Folklore
Hispanic Americans: GR111.H57
Mexican Americans: GR111.M49
Latin America: GR114-133

Spanish Language
PC4001-4977

Portuguese Language
PC5001-5498

Languages of Mexico and Central America
PM3001-4566

Languages of South America and the West Indies
PM5001-7356

Spanish American Literature
PQ7081-8560

Brazilian Literature
PQ9500-9698.436

Interlibrary Loan

Searched Miami's catalog and OhioLink and still can't find the book you want?
Request it through interlibrary loan.
Interlibrary loan will find a library that owns the book, and will request it on your behalf.
To request a book through interlibrary loan, fill out the online form: https://ill.lib.miamioh.edu/illiad/

Online Reference Books

Bilingual Dictionaries: Oxford Reference Online
Searches simultaneously all of the bilingual dictionaries in Oxford Reference Online. There are dictionaries to and from English with French, Spanish, German, Italian, Irish, Welsh, and Latin.
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Traces the history of U.S. immigration from prehistory through the twentieth century, with sections on every major immigrant group and the text of laws and cases affecting immigration.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
A comprehensive, multi-disciplinary view of the Western Hemisphere from Mexico to the tip of South America from prehistoric times to the present, including articles on broad topics and many biographical entries for lesser-known people.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Published with the assistance of the Human Relations Area Files at Yale, this describes the various ethnic and national subcultures from around the world. Not all of these groups are in eHRAF yet.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Articles on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages, in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Latin America and the Caribbean: A Continental Overview of Environmental Issues
Includes coverage of issues unique to Latin America such as habitat destruction, water pollution, depletion of natural resources, energy consumption, and development. Also, provides an overview of the region’s response to environmental matters of worldwide concern, such as global warming.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Contains the full text of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Articles address such topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history of immigrants to the United States from Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Latin American Relations

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2024 8:30 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/las
Print Page

Subjects: Area Studies, Global and Intercultural Studies, Latin American Studies