Latin American Studies: Find Articles
How Do I Find Articles?
The Miami University Libraries offer more than 80,000 subscriptions to journal titles, and many more journals are available from other libraries. You just need a finding tool that will help you figure out what articles in what journals are on your subject.
So where are the finding tools?
The Miami University Libraries subscribe to over 300 indexes and research databases (subject list, alphabetical list) that identify articles about specific topics in many different subject areas. These indexes will often link you to online copies of these articles.Don't know which finding tool to use?
Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for many subjects.What if the index does not connect to an electronic version of the article?
Some indexes/databases will have a Find It button that may indicate if the Libraries have a hard copy of the journal, or if the Libraries have an electronic version from another e-journal provider. If not, do a Journal Title Search in the Miami University Libraries' catalog to see if a hard copy of the journal is available from one of the Libraries.But what if the Miami University Libraries don't have the journal you need?
Miami students, faculty and staff may submit an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain a copy of the articles you need from another institution.Databases
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts and full-text of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
- Caribbean Search This link opens in a new windowA full-text multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region including scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.
- Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new windowCLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, they offer access to citations from documents published in scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages from countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. No full-text.
- Fuente Academica This link opens in a new windowFuente Academica provides full-text (including .pdf) for scholarly Spanish language journals from Spain and Latin America. This multidisciplinary database offers full-text content to many academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy, and theology.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Some full-text.
- Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new windowLatin American Women Writers contains full-text prose, poetry and drama by Latin American Women. Authors are from Mexico and South and Central America. Materials are in Spanish and Portuguese as well as French, Italian and English.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowBrings together scholarship from various disciplinary approaches Latin America, including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science. Citations to current research organized by topic.
- PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
- ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
- FlascoAndesDigital library of research on the Andean region and Latin America
- CLASCSO: Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias SocialesLatin America and Caribbean Social Science Virtual Library
- Scielo.orgPortal to open access scholarship published in Latin America
- LATINDEXA database of academic journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal created by UNAM.
- Redalyc.orgOpen access scholarship produced in Latin America, hosted by UNAM.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
No "Find it button?"
Does the library have the article I found?
In most databases, click 
to locate an article.
HAPI and HLAS do not have this available.
Instead, you should:
- Search for a print version of the article:
Look up the JOURNAL TITLE in the library catalog to see if it is available in print.
- Search for an electronic version of the article:
Use the Online Journals A to Z database to search for the JOURNAL TITLE. This will provide a list of databases which provide full-text access to articles in the journal.