Kinesiology: Home
Welcome!
This guide contains information about different resources and tools the Library provides for kinesiology students, faculty, and staff. Whether you are an experienced researcher or are new to the field, this guide should have useful information. The side navigation (top navigation if you're using a mobile device) will allow you to access different pages that cover additional resources and skills in more depth.
Best Bets
These databases are the best bets for finding information for your classes and assignments. If you can't find what you're looking for, don't hesitate to ask me for help.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with full-text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new windowSports Medicine and Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
Video tutorials
We have tutorials on a number of topics on YouTube. Here are some of the playlists that may be of interest to you.
- How to SearchSeveral videos on identifying keywords and using database search techniques.
- STEM Resource TutorialsVideo tutorials for several of the major STEM databases for finding journal articles. Includes Web of Science and PubMed.
- Library BasicsVideo tutorials on a variety of topics related to getting started with using the library. Includes info on finding full-text, finding books and ebooks, and requesting things we don't have access to.
