For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now this trusted resource is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
The Merck Index Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition.
Easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species.
The Pillbox website was developed to aid in the identification of unknown pills. It combines images of pills with appearance and other information to enable users to visually search for and identify oral solid dosage for medications.
Mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
Integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
2 simultaneous users. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
While aimed at engineers, this is a wonderful tool for chemists too. It allows users to perform property searches, unit conversions, and has interactive equations for chemistry.
Instead of limiting search to narrow fields of expertise, searches in Knovel scan across the widest multidisciplinary areas, with each offering drilling down across multiple sources to deliver all relevant data, including full-text content, equations, materials and substances data, and interactive charts and graphs.
Users must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu e-mail address, in order to use SciFinder.
SciFinder provides access to journal articles, dissertations, abstracts, and patents in chemistry and biomedicine. Search for literature or for chemical records by research topic, author, chemical substance or reaction, document identifier, and company/organization name. Over 10000 chemistry journals (from the CAPlus literature database) are included in the database along with 4800 biomedical journals (from the MEDLINE database), in addition to over 49 million substances and over 18 million reactions.
Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Michael D. Larrañaga (Editor); Richard J. Lewis (Editor); Robert A. Lewis1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes Update on toxicological profiles