Chemistry & Biochemistry: Research Articles and Journals
SciFinder
SciFinder is the most important literature database in chemistry.
You can search SciFinder in several ways:
- Explore References - Search on a topic, author, journal, etc.
- Explore Substances - Search by structure, molecular formula, or Substance Identifier.
- Explore Reactions - Similar to Explore Substances, this section allows you to search for a reaction.
- Create a SciFinder AccountTo use SciFinder, you must create an account using your miamioh.edu email address.
If you use the link here, it shouldn't matter if you are on campus or off. - SciFinderThe best resource to use when looking for chemical information.
- SciFinder Training VideosInstruction videos from the makers of SciFinder - CAS.
Library Databases
Sometimes SciFinder is not the best database to use. We subscribe to many other databases that might be better for your research.
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new windowA division of the American Chemical Society, ACS Publications supports researchers through journals, e-books, scientific programs, and the news magazine Chemical and Engineering News.
- JoVE Journal: Chemistry This link opens in a new windowThe Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. Filmed at the world’s top scientific institutions, JoVE videos bring to life the intricate details of cutting-edge experiments enabling efficient learning and replication of new research methods and technologies. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- National Academies Press E-Books This link opens in a new windowThe NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. In order to download PDF e-books at the site, you will be asked to create a free account at the time of your first download.
- Nature This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text search capabilities for the publications of the Nature Publishing Group ranging from the basic journal Nature to specific titles. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window120 of today's top journals used by physician assistants, nurses, students, and health professionals, as well as a premier nursing and allied health database.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science has a broad focus. What's special about it is the citation tracking; it has a full list of the works cited by an article and a list of articles that cited it. This allows you to find useful resources via citations forward and backwards in time. The Derwent Innovations Index is available via Web of Science. Access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources.
Chemistry Education
For Chemistry Education research, you might want to search in education databases too.
- Education Research CompleteEducation Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Nice, easy database to use.
- ERICERIC includes entries for more than 1.2 million items since 1966, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. ERIC currently indexes more than 600 journals.
- Education Research by Subject GuideIf you need more information about searching education literature then check out the education librarian's guide.
Your Librarian
How to use Databases
- STEM Resource Video SeriesShort video demos on using particular databases. Created by Miami Librarians.