chat loading...

ENT 137 / CEC 101 Engineering Technology

Miami Regionals Libraries & Research Guides

Library Databases for Engineering Technology

Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a database, within Engineering Village, that is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world. It provides a truly holistic and global view of peer reviewed and indexed publications.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Computer and Applied Science Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. full-text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a premier database for information in computing engineering, electrical engineering, and electronics. Full-text access is available for journals and conference proceedings, including IEEE standards. Coverage for all titles is available from 1988, with selected titles from 1913. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Some articles on IEEE Xplore have Code and/or Datasets that have been submitted by authors along with published works. IEEE Xplore document pages have badges on the top-right of the page to denote the availability of this supplemental information. There are two types of badges: 'Code Available' and 'Datasets Available'.
O'Reilly E-books This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books and videos on topics including: business, career development, data, design, hardware, math, science, engineering, security, software, web and mobile. Previously called Safari Books Online. Content selection changes on a continual basis.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Explore Careers in Engineering

Background Information for Engineering Technology

Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering, 2016

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias written by world-class experts to provide subject overviews that can be understood in half an hour of reading or less.
Every essay is rigorously peer-reviewed and new topics and essays are added monthly. The OREs were developed with a global community of librarians and university faculty and written for everyone from students just beginning their studies to more advanced researchers needing background on a field of study.

Miami Intercampus & OhioLINK

"Request Item" from any Miami library. Click the link in Books & More and enter requested information. You will get a library email when it is ready for pickup. Free service.

OhioLINK is an academic library consortium of 121 member libraries throughout Ohio. Miami students may request print books, DVDs, etc. be shipped free when Miami libraries do not have an available copy.

Click "OhioLINK" for Miami titles that are checked out or not in the collection
Click “Request" (green button)
Select Miami
Enter your Miami ID and Password and pickup location when prompted.
Item arrives in 3-5 business
You are notified by email.

Your Librarian

John Burke

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Gardner-Harvey Library
Miami University
4200 N. University Blvd.
Middletown, OH 45042

513-727-3293

Subjects: Commerce, Community Arts, Criminal Justice, Information Technology