Government Information 2e: Basic Indexes and Reference Resources

Indexes

GPO Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index to all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Covers late the 19th century to the 21st century.
Publications cover a wide range of subjects in the social sciences and sciences. This index also includes citations to government resources on the Internet. Many of the publications in this index are shelved by SuDoc number in the Government Information & Law Department, in the basement of King Library.

Catalog of Government Publicatoins
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congress documents including hearings, legislation, and regulations. Provides bill tracking and legislative histories. ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. Indexes some social media from various government bodies. 1789-present.
Full-text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-Present); committee reports (1817-Present); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/U.S. Code (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-2003); Federal Register (1980-); and the Congressional Record, including the Annals of Congress (1789-1997). It also provides information about members and committees.

GovInfo
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Declassified Documents Reference System This link opens in a new window
Full-text of previously classified federal records from presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies, including the Department of Defense, CIA, FBI and others. Collection spans the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Majority of documents are presidential records. Materials cover significant foreign and domestic events.

Washington Information Directory This link opens in a new window
Contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations.

United States Government Manual
Lists and describes agencies and branches of government. Includes organizational charts, histories, sub agencies.

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. 1861- 2000 online. Also in print in the Documents Collection, ground floor

Subjects: Government and Law, Political Science