Government Information 2e: International

From the Central Intelligence Agency. "...provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."

"Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty." Updated Daily

"...information on every country in the world. For each country, you will find information like the location of the U.S. embassy and any consular offices; whether you need a visa; crime and security information; health and medical conditions; drug penalties; and localized hot spots."

Links to the official statistical agencies of more than 100 nations.

Detailed, book length overviews of 101 countries.

Economic statistics, manuals and guides from the International Monetary Fund.

Listing of databases from the World Bank. Includes agriculture, aid, economics, poverty, and infrastructure statistics and information.

Digitized Documents of the UN. Since about 1993.

This collection is just for "official" documents, such as minutes and hearings.

Official UN documents stating the positions of member states.

"The Statistical Yearbook is an annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations."

The official website of the European Union. EUROPA offers basic information on the EU as well as links to many other EU resources.

"Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions."

The database contains legal instruments adopted by the Institutions, minutes of meetings of European Institutions and bodies, press releases, newspaper articles, speeches by European leaders and internal Commission notes. It is not an exhaustive collection.

Access to treaties, legislation, acts, international agreements, case law, and the Official Journal of the European Union, the EU Pesticides Database, and the EU budget among many other legal resources.

ECB statistics and publications from the European Central Bank. Euro area indicators, exchange rates, price and output data, and more.

The Community Research and Development Information Service for Science Research and Development. This database seeks to foster participation in and the dissemination of the results of European research activities applicable to the social, technological, and policy advancement of EU nations.

EuroVoc is a multilingual, multidisciplinary thesaurus covering the European Union. It contains terms in 22 EU languages (Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish), plus Croatian and Serbian.