Government Information 2e: Presidential Documents

Office of the President

Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and Executive Orders. Began as the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and changed to Daily in 2009. Contains everything the president does or says in an official capacity.

Daily/Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (govinfo)
from govinfo. since 1992

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the entire historical runs many law journals with more being added regularly. Also included: the Federal Register (1936-1981), U.S. Reports (Supreme Court opinions), United States Treaties sets, international treaties, and many more.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
In print, 1965-2000.
Presidential Executive Orders in the Federal Register
Clinton to Biden. Searchable.

The Public Papers of the Presidents are collected editions of publications from both the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the newer Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents as established by President Barack Obama. The Public Papers include speeches, proclamations, formal addresses to the nation and to Congress, and more, creating an invaluable collection of primary resource documents.

"Public Papers" began with President Herbert Hoover. Early presidents often have sets of papers curated by scholars and available in print and or online. To find papers from presidents before President Hoover, do a keyword search in the Library's' catalog for "name of president" papers.

Public Papers of the President at The American Presidency Project
An searchable, online database of Presidential materials hosted by UC Santa Barbara.
Govinfo Public Papers of the Presidents
President Hoover to the present. Papers are often behind in the current administration.
Print holdings at Miami
Cumulated indexes to the public papers of the Presidents of the United States
Print index.

Other useful resources on the presidency

Presidential Libraries
From the National Archives. Libraries include all presidents from Herbert Hoover (#31) forward.
Biographical Information on the Presidents
From the White House. Includes first ladies.
Presidents of the United States: Resource Guides
From the Library of Congress
The American Presidency Project
Non-partisan online source for presidential public documents, past and present.

Selected Documents

Budget of the United States
ssued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year.
Economic Report of the President
Overview of the nation's economic progress. Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers.
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders
Search the edited text of proclamations and Executive Orders dated April 13, 1945 - January 20, 1989 that was published in the out-of-print Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders.

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2024 10:46 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/Documents2
Print Page

Subjects: Government and Law, Political Science