chat loading...

STC 262: Empirical Research Methods (Kuznekoff): Survey Instruments and Statistical Sources

Survey Instrument Sources

These are tools to use for finding survey instruments. Surveys and other instruments may also appear within articles that you find in scholarly databases. You can search for a topic you are interested in, and then add the term "survey", "test", "measurement", or related terms to your search.

HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new window
HaPI is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals in the health and social sciences. It provides comprehensive information about behavioral measurement tools, including those related to medicine and nursing, as well as clinical, personality, social, and developmental psychology.
Coverage includes: checklists, coding schemes, indexes, interview schedules, projective techniques, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, tasks, tests, and vignettes/scenarios.

ETS Test Collection
A database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation in the world.
more...

Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook contains information about English-language standardized tests, covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas, which are covered in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks from the 9th edition (1985) to the current one. Oxford campus users only.

Finding Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for quantitative data, statistics and related information on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources on a single platform.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Data Planet This link opens in a new window
A tool for data download and visualization with social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 150 different government and non-government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and education. The data series are standardized allowing you to easily find, compare, visualize, and export. Included are Data Planet Foundations and the Woods & Poole business module.

Data.gov
Statistics & data collected from U.S. government in a searchable catalog.
Explore Census Data
Data from the U.S. Census

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact. 5 simultaneous users.
In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. This interactive website includes the entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2023 4:35 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/STC262
Print Page