STC 262: Empirical Research Methods (Kuznekoff): Finding Articles
STC 262 Databases and Research Guides
Use these sources to find more information on the topics you are researching, or to discover topics that interest you:
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
-
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new windowReports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
-
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Research guides - more databases and other information sources on the topic in the title
Miami University Libraries Search - reaching a wider variety of publications
Miami University Libraries Search
- Start searching for articles here (searches multiple databases at once).
- Use limiters to narrow your results - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use the "Citation" option below the citation when you click on it to create an APA or MLA citation.
- To share this article, click and copy the Permalink option option below the citation when you click on it (not the browser URL).
Watch this short video on how to search for articles in Miami University Libraries Search (4:31 minutes; John Burke, 2025).
Need a Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Article? Who writes them? Why? Where do you find one?
- Peer Review in 3 Minutes (NCSU Libraries)
- Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)
Google Scholar: an alternative for finding articles
-
Google ScholarAcademic research articles and books, found through Google. Some will be freely accessible, and some will require a subscription.
Getting Started: ask me for ideas!
If you aren't sure how to phrase your topic for searching, use our Pre-Search service to get suggestions on words to use and places to search.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.