African American History: Reference and Background Information
Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration by Call Number: King Ref E185.6 .E54 2006ISBN: 0313329826Publication Date: 2006-05-30Describes the movement of southern African Americans to the urban North and West in the broadest social, economic, cultural, and most importantly, political context.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Call Number: King Ref E185 .E545 2006ISBN: 0195167775Publication Date: 2006-04-06Documents the period from 1619-1895, the African American experience.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: King Ref E185.6 .E63 2004ISBN: 157958389XPublication Date: 2004-10-17From the music of Louis Armstrong to the portraits by Beauford Delaney, the writings of Langston Hughes to the debut of the musical Show Boat, the Harlem Renaissance is one of the most significant developments in African-American history in the twentieth century.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: King Ref E184.A1 E584 2013ISBN: 0028661958Publication Date: 2013-02-01Provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism.
The Jim Crow Encyclopedia by Call Number: King Ref E185.61 .J53 2008ISBN: 0313341818Publication Date: 2008-09-30Essay entries on such areas as law, media, business, politics, employment, religion, education, people, events, culture, the arts, protest, the military, class, housing, sports, and violence as well as through accompanying key primary documents excerpted as side bars.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window5 simultaneous users. Contains a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes articles from Oxford's reference works, primary sources with specially written commentaries, images, maps, charts and tables, timelines, and biographies.
A Companion to African American History by Call Number: E185 .C66 2005ISBN: 0631230661Publication Date: 2005-02-04Essays arranged thematically and topically, covering a wide range of subjects from the seventeenth century to the present day. Includes discussions of globalization, region, migration, gender, class and social forces.
The Cambridge Companion to the African American Slave Narrative by Call Number: PS366.A35 C36 2007ISBN: 0521850193Publication Date: 2007-05-31This Companion examines the slave narrative's relation to British and American abolitionism, Anglo-American literary traditions such as autobiography and sentimental literature, and the larger African American literary tradition.
- Oxford Academic This link opens in a new windowCollection of select e-books from Oxford University Press in the humanities and social sciences. Each book and each chapter within each book has an abstract and assigned subject headings, and everything is searchable and printable. Includes ebooks from Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO), University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO), Oxford Handbooks Online, and Very Short Introductions.
Chronology of African American History by Call Number: E185 .H64 1991ISBN: 0810385732Publication Date: 1997-06-01This chronological guide to the people, places and events significant to African American history includes details on important births and deaths, legislation and court decisions, rebellions and demonstrations, awards and honours, and elections and appointments. Brief biographies on many entries are also included, with excerpts from significant speeches, legislations, publications and other important documents.
