African American History: Primary Sources: Newspapers and Magazines
African | African American Newspapers and Magazines
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowDigital collection of local African American newspapers across the United States chronicling life, thought and culture. Miami has Series 1 (1827-1998) and 2 (1835-1956) from selected states.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowContains periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizational bulletins, annual reports, and other genres. Cross-searchable with African American Newspapers (Readex).
- Chicago Defender This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.
- Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934-1991.
- New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the New York Amsterdam News from 1922-1993.
Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers are cross-searchable with all other ProQuest Historical Newspapers–including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times and The Guardian–allowing researchers to evaluate history from multiple points view from various places throughout the world. - African Newspapers Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new windowCollection of 19c and 20c newspapers from many countries in Africa. Most newspapers are in English. Coverage varies by title.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowNOTE: Register with your Miami University email address.
Full-text of 18th and 19th century publications including selected African American newspapers (eg. North Star), Civil War era magazines and newspapers, Godey's Ladies' Book, major early American newspapers (eg. Pennsylvania Gazette), and major Civil war articles from the north and south.< - Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American from 1893-1988. Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers are cross-searchable with all other ProQuest Historical Newspapers–including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times and The Guardian–allowing researchers to evaluate history from multiple points view from various places throughout the world.
- GK Hall Index to Black PeriodicalsEarlier Titles: Index to Periodicals by and about Negroes; Index to Periodicals:indexes to Periodicals by and about Blacks; Index to Black Periodicals.
King Ref AI3 .O4
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
- African American Newspapers in Chronicling AmericaSearchable full text of African American Newspapers digitized at the Library of Congress. Continues to grow
Resources for African American Serials
- African American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National BibliographyList of newspapers and periodicals published and edited by African Americans, 1827-1998. Entries include.descriptions and publication dates. Also a subject index.
- Bibliographic Checklist of African American NewspapersChecklist of titles. Also includes other periodicals.
Magazines
For a more complete list of African American periodicals owned by Miami University use the subject heading: African Americans Periodicals.
For lists of African American periodicals that existed see these union lists.
- JetSelected digital copies
- EbonyPrint copies. 1945 - with gaps. Major popular magazine for African Americans.
- Voice of the Negro1904-06. In Special Collections
- Freedomways1970-1985
- Negro Digest1943-1951
- State of Black AmericaNot exactly a magazine, but a review of issues in Black America. Includes statistics 1978-2013
- The Friend of ManDocumenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements.
- Alexander's magazineFull text through Hathi Trust. Giving "the Negro's point of View Regarding his own Problems", published in Boston in the early 20th century.
- EbonySelected digital copies
- Colored American MagazineFull text Hathi Trust
- Colored American MagazineOnline.
- The CrisisSelected digital copies.
- The CrisisSome full text. Hathi Trust
- The CrisisIn print at Miami.
General Newspapers
- Chicago Tribune Historical This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of the Chicago Tribune, 1849-1994.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new windowFull-text of the complete run of New York Times including with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrations in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles. 1851-3 years ago.
- Washington Post Historical This link opens in a new windowFull-text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 through 17 years ago. Includes full-page and article images of all articles and display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
- Cincinnati Enquirer Historical (1841-2009) This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images for the Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841-2009.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only.
Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFull-text of American magazines published from 1741 into the 20th century. Database can be browsed by title, editor, or publisher, and searched using a sophisticated search menu.
- Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-18 years ago) This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal 1889-18 years ago. Every issue includes the complete paper, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- G.K. Hall Index to Black Periodicals (Not online)Index to scholarly and general articles concerning African American history and culture. Includes references to journal articles, reviews (books, theater, music), poems, and short stories.