Historical Primary Sources: Format

Newspapers and Magazines

19th Century Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes (no full-text) 19th-century British and American books, periodicals, magazines, newspapers and other official documents.
C19 also includes Archives USA, an index to archival repositories and description of their collections; Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. Wellesley Index To Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900); Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online (1790-1919); British Periodicals Collection I and Collection II (1790-1931); American Periodicals Series (1770-1919). With the exception of journals in the American Periodicals series, C19 does not provide links to full-text articles.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals chronicling American society, culture and politics, published between 1691-1820 (Series 1 and 2).
The fifty thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window
Limited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings, and much more.
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of local African American newspapers across the United States chronicling life, thought and culture. Miami has Series 1 (1827-1998) and 2 (1835-1956) from selected states.
African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world. Titles in Series 1 come from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, while titles in Series 2 come from the American Antiquarian Society, Center for Research Libraries, the Library of Congress, and New York Public Library.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizational bulletins, annual reports, and other genres. Cross-searchable with African American Newspapers (Readex).
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
Alternative Press Index covers theories and practices of: socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gay and lesbian issues. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and begins with 1969.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full-text of American magazines published from 1741 into the 20th century. Database can be browsed by title, editor, or publisher, and searched using a sophisticated search menu.
The collection includes the first American magazines, early literary and cultural reviews, the first scholarly journals, and many popular magazines that continue to be published to this day, including Atlantic, Ladies'Home Journal, Vanity Fair, Puck, and Scientific American. This is a work-in-progress and is updated daily. For additional indexing use the 19th Century Index and Index to Early American Periodicals.
ARTFL (French Literature) This link opens in a new window
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of French Language) provides full-text searching of French language texts in literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences. Sources date from the 13th to the 20th centuries. Searching must be performed in French.
Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American from 1893-1988. Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers are cross-searchable with all other ProQuest Historical Newspapers–including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times and The Guardian–allowing researchers to evaluate history from multiple points view from various places throughout the world.
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.
Chicago Tribune Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the Chicago Tribune, 1849-1994.
It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
Cincinnati Enquirer (2010-3 months ago) This link opens in a new window
Digital microfilm for 2010 through three months ago.
Cincinnati Enquirer Historical (1841-2009) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images for the Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841-2009.
Cincinnati Newspaper Index (NEWSDEX) This link opens in a new window
Created and maintained by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County staff, this database indexes selected articles on local topics from area newspapers, currently including the Cincinnati Enquirer, the Cincinnati Post, the Cincinnati Herald, the Business Courier, Cincinnati Magazine, and the Downtowner.
Some topics can be traced back into the 19th century, although the years since 1990 are covered more fully. There is no full-text in the database.
Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934-1991.
Cleveland News Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes local news stories, feature articles, and reviews primarily from the The Plain Dealer from 1983-1999. Since 2000 it only selectively indexes Cleveland Magazine (1983- ), Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990- ), and Ohio (Oct. 1990- ). Searching is by subject. No full-text is available.
Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
A weekly English language publication providing comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments, and cultural events in Russia.
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Early American Newspapers: Series 1-7 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of selected American newspapers from roughly 1690-1922.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 This link opens in a new window
Offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper, from its first issue to the end of 2010. Every individual article, advertisement, and market listing is included; they can be viewed individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of Harpers Weekly, an important 19th century political and social magazine. 1857-1871.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the entire historical runs many law journals with more being added regularly. Also included: the Federal Register (1936-1981), U.S. Reports (Supreme Court opinions), United States Treaties sets, international treaties, and many more.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Indexes articles in scholarly humanities and social science journals published between 1907-1984.
Combines the indexing of International Index (1907-1965), the Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-74), Humanities Index (1974-84), and Social Sciences Index (1974-84).
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Contains campaign newspapers for the 1860 Presidential campaign and magazines and newspapers sympathetic to the Confederacy, Union, and Abolitionism. 1860-1865.
Carefully sought out and compiled from 17 different museum, library, and private collections, including those of the American Antiquarian Society and the Chicago Historical Society, these resources are now available to modern scholars in electronic form for the first time here.
Integrum This link opens in a new window
5 simultaneous users; requires username and password. Contact Masha Stepanova at stepanm@miamioh.edu for questions and help navigating these databases. Integrum Profi is a large collection of Russian and CIS databases covering central and regional newspapers and magazines, statistics, official publications, archives of national and international information agencies, full-texts of thousands of literary works with translations, and dictionaries. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Content of most publications starts in the early 1990s. Profi also includes Russian mass-media monitoring in a variety of topics in social sciences, political science, economics, and others. Translation of queries and results is available. Integrum Social Networks is a tool monitoring individuals, companies, organizations, and products in major social networks: Facebook, Twitter, Google+, VKontakte, LiveJournal, Yandex, and Mail.ru.
Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive (1931-2011) This link opens in a new window
Iskusstvo kino, established in 1931, is the leading journal of Russian, and formerly Soviet, cinema. Iskusstvo kino includes critical reviews of both domestic and foreign film, as well as scholarly articles on cinematic theory and history as well as the Russian culture and arts scene.
It was first published under the title Proletarskoe kino (1931-1932), then Sovetskoe kino (1933-1935), and finally under the present name (since 1936). Publication of Iskusstvo kino was suspended in 1942-1943, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Krokodil Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Krokodil was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union. Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. In 2001-2004 the title Krokodil was changed to Novyi Krokodil, but in 2005 the old title was back. Published continuously until 2008, Krokodil was at one time the most popular newspaper for humorous stories and satire, with a circulation reaching 6.5 million copies.
Krokodil lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events. It ridiculed bureaucracy and excessive centralized control. The caricatures found in Krokodil can be studied as a gauge of the 'correct party line' of the time. During the height of the Cold War, cartoons criticizing Uncle Sam, Pentagon, Western colonialism and German militarism were common in the pages of Krokodil.
Latin American Newspapers Series 1-2 This link opens in a new window
Part of the World Newspaper Archive, a searchable database of diverse 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America and is divided into Series 1 (1805-1922) and Series 2 (1822-1922) including content from newspapers published throughout South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.
Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the "father of Soviet literature," writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. With its focus on literary and intellectual life, Literaturnaia gazeta allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. Literaturnaia gazeta was considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, and it remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia.
Publication of Literaturnaia gazeta was completely suspended in 1942 and 1943, and no issues were produced. In 1944, only 8 issues were published. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years.
Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the "father of Soviet literature," writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. With its focus on literary and intellectual life, Literaturnaia gazeta allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. Literaturnaia gazeta was considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, and it remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia.
Publication of Literaturnaia gazeta was completely suspended in 1942 and 1943, and no issues were produced. In 1944, only 8 issues were published. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years.
Mideastwire This link opens in a new window
5 simultaneous users. A daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper's short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). This database offers the most comprehensive collection available for this title, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.
National Review Archive Publications This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Republican/conservative news, commentary, and opinion. 1955-present.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text search capabilities for the publications of the Nature Publishing Group ranging from the basic journal Nature to specific titles. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
New Republic Archive This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Journals/magazine containing political opinion as well as art and society. Contains articles from many award-winning writers and critics from many fields. Trends progressive. 1914 - .
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the New York Amsterdam News from 1922-1993.
Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers are cross-searchable with all other ProQuest Historical Newspapers–including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times and The Guardian–allowing researchers to evaluate history from multiple points view from various places throughout the world.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the complete run of New York Times including with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrations in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles. 1851-3 years ago.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
Peace Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to individual papers given at every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Limited full-text.
The index contains more than 267,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, including Journal of Peace Research, Journal of Conflict Resolution, and International Journal of Refugee Law.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. Collections 1-9.
Pravda Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers' newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.
Publication of Pravda was completely suspended in 1915 and 1916, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these years.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index focused on content relating specifically to the relationship between races, specifically the social, political, and economic relations between races and ethnicities. Subjects covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Limited full-text.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Index only to popular magazines (primarily United States) in the 20th century. 1890-1982.
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the Sunday edition of the Times, London newspaper. The Sunday Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the daily edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the daily edition of the Times, London newspaper. The daily edition of the Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the Sunday edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
The index to the paper after 1985 is available in the King Index area at the end of the reference section. Older indexes are available in King Circulation. Microfilm of the newspaper is available by request from the Instructional Materials Center.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
First published in 1902, the Times Literary Supplement offers coverage of significant publications, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviews current, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions. This database of TLS articles from 1902-2007 is a resource for the study of modern literature and culture.
Universal Database of Social Sciences & Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window
This database includes contents of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities. It is comprised of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles are added on a regular basis. This Universal Database grows retroactively. Full-text and full-image content of print editions is reproduced with original pagination.
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-18 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal 1889-18 years ago. Every issue includes the complete paper, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
Washington Post Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 through 17 years ago. Includes full-page and article images of all articles and display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.

Books

ARTFL (French Literature) This link opens in a new window
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of French Language) provides full-text searching of French language texts in literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences. Sources date from the 13th to the 20th centuries. Searching must be performed in French.
Digitalia E-Books This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text Latin American Literature collection and the Spanish Literature collection of e-books published in Spain and Latin America. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Early American Fiction This link opens in a new window
Provides the full-text of 440 works of 80 U.S. novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850. This database comprises first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors significant during their lifetimes.
Provides the full-text of 440 works of 80 U.S. novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850. This database comprises first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors significant during their lifetimes.
Early American Imprints: The Digital Evans This link opens in a new window
Full-text of most printed matter (books, pamphlets, and broadsides, etc.) issued the United States and Canada from 1640-1800. If the full-text is not included, it is not extant anywhere.
Based on the American Bibliography compiled by Charles Evans, with updates and corrections, EAI offers rich indexing (author, title, subject, genre, publishing location, language, more) and easy access to the print culture of Colonial and early republican America. Complemented by the two full-text collections, Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed matter printed in England or its Colonies or in English anywhere during the years 1475-1700.
EEBO titles appear as digital images and can be downloaded as pdf files. The database is searchable, but see also the English Short-Title Catalogue that allows more complex searches and is keyed to EEBO titles. Some 25,000 of the EEBO titles are being digitized with SGML coding as part of the Text Creation Partnership. Included here are titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661); titles in the Tract Supplement will be added starting in 2007-08.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive digital collection of nearly 140,000 English-language titles covering all subjects published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom and North America (and including foreign-language titles printed in the UK). It allows both full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material and sophisticated searches by subject, author, publisher, and back-of-the-book indexes.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive digital collection of nearly 140,000 English-language titles covering all subjects published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom and North America (and including foreign-language titles printed in the UK). It allows both full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material and sophisticated searches by subject, author, publisher, and back-of-the-book indexes.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Full-text (only extant copies) collection of books about the Americas published 1500-1926 and covering history, social and political issues, science, religion, slavery, emigration, women, and many, many other subjects.

Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a repository of over 2.5 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, and archaeology.
ARTstor is a repository of over 2.5 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, and archaeology.
Images of the American Civil War This link opens in a new window
Posters, photographs, and ephemera depicting Civil War battlefields, the home front, politics, and general society. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Images, etc. from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society, Virginia Historical Society, The Library Company of Philadelphia, and the New York Historical Society.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, brand, person pictured, and photographer/illustrator, as well as document type and document feature.

Video

American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
A work in progress, this edition of American Film Scripts Online contains more than 1,100 scripts together with detailed information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Users can search by subject (topics, events, places) as well as by character name, writer, film title, and people (actors, director, producers) When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.
American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
A work in progress, this edition of American Film Scripts Online contains more than 1,100 scripts together with detailed information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Users can search by subject (topics, events, places) as well as by character name, writer, film title, and people (actors, director, producers) When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Historical videos (1894-2015) from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Border and Migration Studies This link opens in a new window
A collection that explores and provides historical background on select border areas in Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe in text, video, and images.
Border areas include: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand (FOD) offers curriculum-focused streaming video titles produced by Films for the Humanities and Sciences. NOTE: Small set of hosted videos available until 3/2024
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform with films from a variety of collections and producers, including the California Newsreel, Green Planet, PBS, BBC Active, and Stanford Executive Briefings collections. Search titles available for request and for titles currently licensed by the Libraries. Check the library catalog for licensed films' expiration dates.
As of July 1 2019, the University Libraries lease content from Kanopy on an item-by-item basis. Requests for the Libraries to lease an item can be made on the Kanopy web site or to your subject selector. Because of the costs and limited duration of Kanopy rental agreements, we prioritize content needed by faculty and students for coursework and research purposes. Requests may take several working days to process; please plan accordingly. More information about Kanopy and streaming video at Miami.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
Collection of newsreels highlighting world cultures and contemporary issues. Some videos contain multiple short vignettes about news around the world and others are longer single topic explorations. Some were also reenactments 1935-1967. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-present This link opens in a new window
This collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Films include the Oscar-nominated Twilight Samurai, directed by Yoji Yamada, Oscar-nominated The Scent of Green Papaya, directed by Tran Anh Hung, Oscar-nominated Dogtooth, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, and Cannes Grand Jury Prize winner The Piano Teacher, directed by Michael Haneke. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source films with coverage from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. It includes documentary films, features, and newsreels by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe, and more held in the British Film Institute.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Streaming library of over 25,000 feature films, documentaries and foreign films available for request. SWANK videos can be embedded in Canvas and watched on tablets/mobile devices. Licenses for approved requests last one calendar year.
The University Libraries leases content from SWANK on an item-by-item basis. Requests for the Libraries to lease an item can be made on the SWANK web site by a faculty member or your subject selector. Because of the costs and limited duration of SWANK rental agreements, we prioritize content needed for coursework and research purposes. Requests may take several working days to process; please plan accordingly.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains over 660 performances of the world's leading plays and documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays are presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Results can be filtered by subject, publisher, person, content type, language, and release date.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Online collection of streaming videos that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Documentaries topics include, a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Focus is Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Audio

American Music This link opens in a new window
Explore the music of Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life through these recordings of songs and instrumentals. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
The songs are by and about Native Americans, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, cowboys, and ordinary folk and address topics ranging from the American Revolution and Civil War to political campaigns and civil rights. Genres include country, bluegrass, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
Database of Recorded American Music This link opens in a new window
Listen to recordings and view liner notes and essays from New World, Composers' Recordings, Albany, Cedille and other labels focusing on music of the United States.
DRAM preserves and makes available recordings from a set of independent labels possibly overlooked by commercial vendors.
Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Jazz recordings searchable by performer, ensemble, or genre from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
content download is restricted. Listen online to recordings from Naxos and hundreds of other labels featuring classical, jazz, world, and folk musics. Program notes on the tracks as well as biographical information on composers/performers and historical materials are often available.
OhioLINK Music Center This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of tracks from the Naxos Music Library searchable in six genres: Chinese music, classical music, opera, jazz, spoken word and world music. Access to the music files is restricted to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK member institutions.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
4 simultaneous users. Listen online to materials from the Smithsonian Folkways catalog and other archival collections representing musics in various genres including folk, blues, jazz, country, children's and spoken word from all regions of the world.

Data and Statistics

Data Citation Index (1900-present) This link opens in a new window
The Data Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, provides a single point of access to quality research data from global repositories across disciplines. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
As data citation practices increase, the Data Citation Index aims to provide a clearer picture of the full impact of research output, as well as to act as a significant tool for data attribution and discovery.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Collected from governmental and non-governmental resources. Contains statistics on social, behavioral, economics, government, finance, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, migration, trade and more. Allows for customization of data into tables.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables. Time-series data is available back to 1945 for some countries.
IFS contains country data for most Fund members as well as for Anguilla, Aruba, the Central African Economic Monetary Community, Curacao, the Currency Union of Curacao and Sint Maartan, the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union, the Euro area, Montserrat, the former Netherlands Antilles, the West African Economic Monetary Union, the West Bank and Gaza and some non-sovereign territory entities.
International Historical Statistics: 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
International historical statistics (1750-2010) is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2010, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source. The above link allows you to browse chapter-level PDFs. Click here to search within the e-book.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact. 5 simultaneous users.
In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. This interactive website includes the entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.

Last Updated: Feb 26, 2024 3:18 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/primarysources
Print Page