Historical Primary Sources: Subject

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 18th and 19th century publications including selected African American newspapers (eg. North Star), Civil War era magazines and newspapers, Godey's Ladies' Book, major early American newspapers (eg. Pennsylvania Gazette), and major Civil war articles from the north and south.
Periodicals include Godey's Lady's Book and the Pennsylvania Gazette. Civil War articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer. African-American papers, including Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star the Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-59), and others.
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of local African American newspapers across the United States chronicling life, thought and culture. Miami has Series 1 (1827-1998) and 2 (1835-1956) from selected states.
African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world. Titles in Series 1 come from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, while titles in Series 2 come from the American Antiquarian Society, Center for Research Libraries, the Library of Congress, and New York Public Library.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizational bulletins, annual reports, and other genres. Cross-searchable with African American Newspapers (Readex).
American Politics and Society From Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975) This link opens in a new window
Records from the Executive Branch (Kennedy and Johnson) as well as from federal agencies. Issues include women’s rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration,War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials. See Proquest Subject Guide for more detail. (https://proquest.libguides.com/historyvault/politics1960)
Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American from 1893-1988. Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers are cross-searchable with all other ProQuest Historical Newspapers–including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times and The Guardian–allowing researchers to evaluate history from multiple points view from various places throughout the world.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records This link opens in a new window
Primary source government documents related to the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century.
Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Covers non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. full-texts of books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Border and Migration Studies This link opens in a new window
A collection that explores and provides historical background on select border areas in Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe in text, video, and images.
Border areas include: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.
Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934-1991.
New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the New York Amsterdam News from 1922-1993.
Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers are cross-searchable with all other ProQuest Historical Newspapers–including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times and The Guardian–allowing researchers to evaluate history from multiple points view from various places throughout the world.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
5 simultaneous users. Contains a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes articles from Oxford's reference works, primary sources with specially written commentaries, images, maps, charts and tables, timelines, and biographies.
Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes statutes passed by every colony and state on slavery, federal statutes dealing with slavery, and reported state and federal cases on slavery. It also includes U.S. Congressional documents, pamphlets, books, law review articles, and some modern legal histories.
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South This link opens in a new window
FBI documents and files Including surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and relating to the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) "freedom ride." By riding interstate buses in the South in mixed racial groups, the Freedom Riders challenged the southern states that ignored federal anti-segregation laws.

Women

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
full-text of diaries and letters of British and Irish women in the UK and abroad. Most have been published, but also some are in manuscript form. Coverage 15th century - sometime in the 20th century. See advanced index. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Latin American Women Writers contains full-text prose, poetry and drama by Latin American Women. Authors are from Mexico and South and Central America. Materials are in Spanish and Portuguese as well as French, Italian and English.
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
Plays of selected women playwrights, some unpublished or hard to find. Also included: selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Colonial era - present.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Unpublished and published sources of women's diaries and correspondence. They provide a detailed record of what women wore, the conditions under which they worked, what they ate, what they read, and how they amused themselves. Colonial - present.
Unpublished and published sources of women's diaries and correspondence. They provide a detailed record of what women wore, the conditions under which they worked, what they ate, what they read, and how they amused themselves. Colonial - present.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text of handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate the standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. Titles include: "Official Preppy Handbook" and "Facts about Marriage Every Young Man & Woman Should Know" 1900-present
The collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. The collection contains fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, brand, person pictured, and photographer/illustrator, as well as document type and document feature.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
This database includes documents from the President's Commission on the Status of Women, Institute for Women's Policy Research, papers of women active in the women's movements as well as selected speeches diaries and other publications.

Last Updated: Feb 26, 2024 3:18 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/primarysources
Print Page